Family Tree, Genetics, and Finding Home (Part Three)

Sometime in the past 100 or so years, there had been an adoption event that brought a Sarrett (Surrette or Surritt) into the Byars family. But that didn’t seem to bring me any closer to finding out where my family was originally from.

My Y-DNA belongs to the R-L1 haplogroup, which I know mostly comes from the south and central parts of England. According to Family Tree DNA’s Family Finder, I am

  • 48% Western and Central Europe
  • 44% British Isles
  • 8% Scandinavian

I spoke with a genealogist in Scotland who explained that R-L1, to which he also belonged, originated in Lower Saxony about 700 BC.  He explained to me that the Romans took men from the Germanic tribes to serve as auxiliary regiments. Some of these were stationed at Hadrian’s Wall and that is how there are so many R-L1 in that area.

Recently, I learned of an impressive study at the University of Sheffield. The Geographic Population Structure (GPS) algorithm was able to very accurately locate countries of origin, sometimes down to the very villages.

I learned I could send them my DNA results from Family Tree DNA and they would attempt a GPS placement with my data. So I sent my data to Prosapia Genetics.

At first there was a good bit of difficulty as my results were more complicated than usual. But they did come through:

If ancestry is known to be not diverse the client predicted to be Luxembourgish:
Calculated Latitude of Origin: 49.2869
Calculated Longitude of Origin: 6.5188

Luxembourgish people are known to be very mixed population (it correlates well with historical background of that group).

Nevertheless same ancestry may be a result of a very recent mix of two or more groups even on the parents or grand parents level.

If ancestry is known to come from two distinct ethnic groups, then it is close to a mix of:
Bulgarian_2 with latitude 42.41 and longtitude 23.19 and
Highland_Scottish_0 with latitute 57.12 and longtitude -4.71

If ancestry is known to be much more complicated and mixed, then we need a little bit more information, including a list of expected ancestry of grandparents or grand grandparents with level of confidence about these.

In short: the client has a very common mixture of Mediterranean and Northern European blood that is common with Luxembourgish people, but the same picture can be a result when parents are from two different origins: Bulgarian and Scottish.

Thank you

I expected results in the British Isles due to other information that I had gathered in my research. Finding a result in the Scottish Highlands made a lot of sense to me. I’m confident enough in the results to claim a Highland Scottish ancestry. Perhaps in time I will research further, but for now, that is good enough for me.

Leave a Reply

