The General Confession

Here is an interesting comparison between the General Confession from the Book of Common Prayer 1662 and Romans 7.8-25

Almighty and most merciful Father; We have erred, and strayed from thy ways like lost sheep.

  • We have followed too much the devices and desires of our own hearts.
    “But sin, finding opportunity in the commandment, wrought in me all kinds of covetousness.” (v. 8)
  • We have offended against thy holy laws.
    “We know that the law is spiritual; but I am carnal, sold under sin.” (v. 14)
  • We have left undone those things which we ought to have done;
    “For I do not do the good I want” (v. 19a)
  • And we have done those things which we ought not to have done;
    “but the evil I do not want is what I do” (v. 19b)
  • And there is no health in us.
    “For I know that nothing good dwells within me, that is, in my flesh…  this body of death?” (v. 18a, 24b)
  • But thou, O Lord, have mercy upon us, miserable offenders.
    ” Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?” (v. 24)

Spare thou them, O God, who confess their faults. Restore thou them that are penitent;

  • According to thy promises declared unto mankind in Christ Jesu our Lord.
    “Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!” (v. 25)

And grant, O most merciful Father, for his sake; That we may hereafter live a godly, righteous, and sober life, To the glory of thy holy Name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

