Morning Prayer 24th October 2016

James of Jerusalem, Bishop of Jerusalem, Brother of our Lord

O Lord, open thou my lips, and my mouth shall show forth thy praise. (Psalm 51.15)

Psalm 119:145-168

With my whole heart I cry; answer me, O Lord!
I will keep thy statutes.
I cry to thee; save me,
that I may observe thy testimonies.
I rise before dawn and cry for help;
I hope in thy words.
My eyes are awake before the watches of the night,
that I may meditate upon thy promise.
Hear my voice in thy steadfast love;
O Lord, in thy justice preserve my life.
They draw near who persecute me with evil purpose;
they are far from thy law.
But thou art near, O Lord,
and all thy commandments are true.
Long have I known from thy testimonies
that thou hast founded them for ever.

Look on my affliction and deliver me,
for I do not forget thy law.
Plead my cause and redeem me;
give me life according to thy promise!
Salvation is far from the wicked,
for they do not seek thy statutes.
Great is thy mercy, O Lord;
give me life according to thy justice.
Many are my persecutors and my adversaries,
but I do not swerve from thy testimonies.
I look at the faithless with disgust,
because they do not keep thy commands.
Consider how I love thy precepts!
Preserve my life according to thy steadfast love.
The sum of thy word is truth;
and every one of thy righteous ordinances endures for ever.

Princes persecute me without cause,
but my heart stands in awe of thy words.
I rejoice at thy word
like one who finds great spoil.
I hate and abhor falsehood,
but I love thy law.
Seven times a day I praise thee
for thy righteous ordinances.
Great peace have those who love thy law;
nothing can make them stumble.
I hope for thy salvation, O Lord,
and I do thy commandments.
My soul keeps thy testimonies;
I love them exceedingly.
I keep thy precepts and testimonies,
for all my ways are before thee.
Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit:
as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen.

Jeremiah 11:18-23

The Lord made it known to me and I knew;
then thou didst show me their evil deeds.
But I was like a gentle lamb
led to the slaughter.
I did not know it was against me
they devised schemes, saying,
“Let us destroy the tree with its fruit,
let us cut him off from the land of the living,
that his name be remembered no more.”
But, O Lord of hosts, who judgest righteously,
who triest the heart and the mind,
let me see thy vengeance upon them,
for to thee have I committed my cause.

Therefore thus says the Lord concerning the men of An′athoth, who seek your life, and say, “Do not prophesy in the name of the Lord, or you will die by our hand”— therefore thus says the Lord of hosts: “Behold, I will punish them; the young men shall die by the sword; their sons and their daughters shall die by famine; and none of them shall be left. For I will bring evil upon the men of An′athoth, the year of their punishment.”

St. Matthew 10.16-22

Behold, I send you out as sheep in the midst of wolves; so be wise as serpents and innocent as doves. Beware of men; for they will deliver you up to councils, and flog you in their synagogues, and you will be dragged before governors and kings for my sake, to bear testimony before them and the Gentiles. When they deliver you up, do not be anxious how you are to speak or what you are to say; for what you are to say will be given to you in that hour; for it is not you who speak, but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you. Brother will deliver up brother to death, and the father his child, and children will rise against parents and have them put to death; and you will be hated by all for my name’s sake. But he who endures to the end will be saved.

The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, who art in heaven,
hallowed be thy name;
thy kingdom come;
thy will be done;
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our trespasses,
as we forgive those who
trespass against us.
And lead us not into temptation;
but deliver us from evil.
For thine is the kingdom,
the power and the glory,
for ever and ever.
Amen.

The Collect

Grant, we beseech thee, O God, that after the example of thy servant James the Just, brother of our Lord, thy Church may give itself continually to prayer and to the reconciliation of all who are at variance and enmity; through the same our Lord Jesus Christ, who liveth and reigneth with thee and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

