Midday Prayer 30th November 2016

I have laid up thy word in my heart,
    that I might not sin against thee. Psalm 119.11

Psalm 119:81-104

My soul languishes for thy salvation;
    I hope in thy word.
My eyes fail with watching for thy promise;
    I ask, “When wilt thou comfort me?”
For I have become like a wineskin in the smoke,
    yet I have not forgotten thy statutes.
How long must thy servant endure?
    When wilt thou judge those who persecute me?
Godless men have dug pitfalls for me,
    men who do not conform to thy law.
All thy commandments are sure;
    they persecute me with falsehood; help me!
They have almost made an end of me on earth;
    but I have not forsaken thy precepts.
In thy steadfast love spare my life,
    that I may keep the testimonies of thy mouth.

For ever, O Lord, thy word
    is firmly fixed in the heavens.
Thy faithfulness endures to all generations;
    thou hast established the earth, and it stands fast.
By thy appointment they stand this day;
    for all things are thy servants.
If thy law had not been my delight,
    I should have perished in my affliction.
I will never forget thy precepts;
    for by them thou hast given me life.
I am thine, save me;
    for I have sought thy precepts.
The wicked lie in wait to destroy me;
    but I consider thy testimonies.
I have seen a limit to all perfection,
    but thy commandment is exceedingly broad.

Oh, how I love thy law!
    It is my meditation all the day.
Thy commandment makes me wiser than my enemies,
    for it is ever with me.
I have more understanding than all my teachers,
    for thy testimonies are my meditation.
I understand more than the aged,
    for I keep thy precepts.
I hold back my feet from every evil way,
    in order to keep thy word.
I do not turn aside from thy ordinances,
    for thou hast taught me.
How sweet are thy words to my taste,
    sweeter than honey to my mouth!
Through thy precepts I get understanding;
    therefore I hate every false way.
Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit:
as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world
without end. Amen.

Luke 12:35-37

“Let your loins be girded and your lamps burning, and be like men who are waiting for their master to come home from the marriage feast, so that they may open to him at once when he comes and knocks. Blessed are those servants whom the master finds awake when he comes; truly, I say to you, he will gird himself and have them sit at table, and he will come and serve them.

The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, who art in heaven,
hallowed be thy name;
thy kingdom come;
thy will be done;
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our trespasses,
as we forgive those who
trespass against us.
And lead us not into temptation;
but deliver us from evil.
For thine is the kingdom,
the power and the glory,
for ever and ever.
Amen.

The Collect

Almighty God, who didst give such grace to thine apostle Andrew that he readily obeyed the call of thy Son Jesus Christ, and brought his brother with him: Give unto us, who are called by thy Word, grace to follow him without delay, and to bring those near to us into his gracious presence; who liveth and reigneth with thee and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

