Evening Prayer 1st December 2016

Look up and raise your heads, because your redemption is drawing near. Luke 21.28

Psalm 18:21-50

For I have kept the ways of the Lord,
    and have not wickedly departed from my God.
For all his ordinances were before me,
    and his statutes I did not put away from me.
I was blameless before him,
    and I kept myself from guilt.
Therefore the Lord has recompensed me according to my righteousness,
    according to the cleanness of my hands in his sight.

With the loyal thou dost show thyself loyal;
    with the blameless man thou dost show thyself blameless;
with the pure thou dost show thyself pure;
    and with the crooked thou dost show thyself perverse.
For thou dost deliver a humble people;
    but the haughty eyes thou dost bring down.
Yea, thou dost light my lamp;
    the Lord my God lightens my darkness.
Yea, by thee I can crush a troop;
    and by my God I can leap over a wall.
This God—his way is perfect;
    the promise of the Lord proves true;
    he is a shield for all those who take refuge in him.

For who is God, but the Lord?
    And who is a rock, except our God?—
the God who girded me with strength,
    and made my way safe.
He made my feet like hinds’ feet,
    and set me secure on the heights.
He trains my hands for war,
    so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze.
Thou hast given me the shield of thy salvation,
    and thy right hand supported me,
    and thy help made me great.
Thou didst give a wide place for my steps under me,
    and my feet did not slip.
I pursued my enemies and overtook them;
    and did not turn back till they were consumed.
I thrust them through, so that they were not able to rise;
    they fell under my feet.
For thou didst gird me with strength for the battle;
    thou didst make my assailants sink under me.
Thou didst make my enemies turn their backs to me,
    and those who hated me I destroyed.
They cried for help, but there was none to save,
    they cried to the Lord, but he did not answer them.
I beat them fine as dust before the wind;
    I cast them out like the mire of the streets.

Thou didst deliver me from strife with the peoples;
    thou didst make me the head of the nations;
    people whom I had not known served me.
As soon as they heard of me they obeyed me;
    foreigners came cringing to me.
Foreigners lost heart,
    and came trembling out of their fastnesses.

The Lord lives; and blessed be my rock,
    and exalted be the God of my salvation,
the God who gave me vengeance
    and subdued peoples under me;
who delivered me from my enemies;
    yea, thou didst exalt me above my adversaries;
    thou didst deliver me from men of violence.

For this I will extol thee, O Lord, among the nations,
    and sing praises to thy name.
Great triumphs he gives to his king,
    and shows steadfast love to his anointed,
    to David and his descendants for ever.
Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit:
as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world
without end. Amen.

Amos 4:6-13

“I gave you cleanness of teeth in all your cities,
    and lack of bread in all your places,
yet you did not return to me,”
                says the Lord.

“And I also withheld the rain from you
    when there were yet three months to the harvest;
I would send rain upon one city,
    and send no rain upon another city;
one field would be rained upon,
    and the field on which it did not rain withered;
so two or three cities wandered to one city
    to drink water, and were not satisfied;
yet you did not return to me,”
                says the Lord.

“I smote you with blight and mildew;
    I laid waste your gardens and your vineyards;
    your fig trees and your olive trees the locust devoured;
yet you did not return to me,”
                says the Lord.

“I sent among you a pestilence after the manner of Egypt;
    I slew your young men with the sword;
I carried away your horses;
    and I made the stench of your camp go up into your nostrils;
yet you did not return to me,”
                says the Lord.

“I overthrew some of you,
    as when God overthrew Sodom and Gomor′rah,
    and you were as a brand plucked out of the burning;
yet you did not return to me,”
                says the Lord.

“Therefore thus I will do to you, O Israel;
    because I will do this to you,
    prepare to meet your God, O Israel!”

For lo, he who forms the mountains, and creates the wind,
    and declares to man what is his thought;
who makes the morning darkness,
    and treads on the heights of the earth—
the Lord, the God of hosts, is his name!

Luke 20:27-40

There came to him some Sad′ducees, those who say that there is no resurrection, and they asked him a question, saying, “Teacher, Moses wrote for us that if a man’s brother dies, having a wife but no children, the man must take the wife and raise up children for his brother. Now there were seven brothers; the first took a wife, and died without children; and the second and the third took her, and likewise all seven left no children and died. Afterward the woman also died. In the resurrection, therefore, whose wife will the woman be? For the seven had her as wife.”

And Jesus said to them, “The sons of this age marry and are given in marriage; but those who are accounted worthy to attain to that age and to the resurrection from the dead neither marry nor are given in marriage, for they cannot die any more, because they are equal to angels and are sons of God, being sons of the resurrection. But that the dead are raised, even Moses showed, in the passage about the bush, where he calls the Lord the God of Abraham and the God of Isaac and the God of Jacob. Now he is not God of the dead, but of the living; for all live to him.” And some of the scribes answered, “Teacher, you have spoken well.” For they no longer dared to ask him any question.

The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, who art in heaven,
hallowed be thy name;
thy kingdom come;
thy will be done;
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our trespasses,
as we forgive those who
trespass against us.
And lead us not into temptation;
but deliver us from evil.
For thine is the kingdom,
the power and the glory,
for ever and ever.
Amen.

The Collect

Almighty God, give us grace that we may cast away the works of darkness, and put upon us the armor of light, now in the time of this mortal life in which thy Son Jesus Christ came to visit us in great humility; that in the last day, when he shall come again in his glorious majesty to judge both the quick and the dead, we may rise to the life immortal; through him who liveth and reigneth with thee and the Holy Ghost, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

