Evening Prayer 2nd December 2016

Look up and raise your heads, because your redemption is drawing near. Luke 21.28

Psalm 22

My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?
    Why art thou so far from helping me, from the words of my groaning?
O my God, I cry by day, but thou dost not answer;
    and by night, but find no rest.

Yet thou art holy,
    enthroned on the praises of Israel.
In thee our fathers trusted;
    they trusted, and thou didst deliver them.
To thee they cried, and were saved;
    in thee they trusted, and were not disappointed.

But I am a worm, and no man;
    scorned by men, and despised by the people.
All who see me mock at me,
    they make mouths at me, they wag their heads;
“He committed his cause to the Lord; let him deliver him,
    let him rescue him, for he delights in him!”

Yet thou art he who took me from the womb;
    thou didst keep me safe upon my mother’s breasts.
Upon thee was I cast from my birth,
    and since my mother bore me thou hast been my God.
Be not far from me,
    for trouble is near
    and there is none to help.

Many bulls encompass me,
    strong bulls of Bashan surround me;
they open wide their mouths at me,
    like a ravening and roaring lion.

I am poured out like water,
    and all my bones are out of joint;
my heart is like wax,
    it is melted within my breast;
my strength is dried up like a potsherd,
    and my tongue cleaves to my jaws;
    thou dost lay me in the dust of death.

Yea, dogs are round about me;
    a company of evildoers encircle me;
    they have pierced my hands and feet—
I can count all my bones—
    they stare and gloat over me;
they divide my garments among them,
    and for my raiment they cast lots.

But thou, O Lord, be not far off!
    O thou my help, hasten to my aid!
Deliver my soul from the sword,
    my life from the power of the dog!
Save me from the mouth of the lion,
    my afflicted soul from the horns of the wild oxen!

I will tell of thy name to my brethren;
    in the midst of the congregation I will praise thee:
You who fear the Lord, praise him!
    all you sons of Jacob, glorify him,
    and stand in awe of him, all you sons of Israel!
For he has not despised or abhorred
    the affliction of the afflicted;
and he has not hid his face from him,
    but has heard, when he cried to him.

From thee comes my praise in the great congregation;
    my vows I will pay before those who fear him.
The afflicted shall eat and be satisfied;
    those who seek him shall praise the Lord!
    May your hearts live for ever!

All the ends of the earth shall remember
    and turn to the Lord;
and all the families of the nations
    shall worship before him.
For dominion belongs to the Lord,
    and he rules over the nations.

Yea, to him shall all the proud of the earth bow down;
    before him shall bow all who go down to the dust,
    and he who cannot keep himself alive.
Posterity shall serve him;
    men shall tell of the Lord to the coming generation,
and proclaim his deliverance to a people yet unborn,
    that he has wrought it.
Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit:
as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world
without end. Amen.

Amos 5:1-17

Hear this word which I take up over you in lamentation, O house of Israel:

“Fallen, no more to rise,
    is the virgin Israel;
forsaken on her land,
    with none to raise her up.”

For thus says the Lord God:
“The city that went forth a thousand
    shall have a hundred left,
and that which went forth a hundred
    shall have ten left
    to the house of Israel.”

For thus says the Lord to the house of Israel:
“Seek me and live;
    but do not seek Bethel,
and do not enter into Gilgal
    or cross over to Beer-sheba;
for Gilgal shall surely go into exile,
    and Bethel shall come to nought.”

Seek the Lord and live,
    lest he break out like fire in the house of Joseph,
    and it devour, with none to quench it for Bethel,
O you who turn justice to wormwood,
    and cast down righteousness to the earth!

He who made the Pleiades and Orion,
    and turns deep darkness into the morning,
    and darkens the day into night,
who calls for the waters of the sea,
    and pours them out upon the surface of the earth,
the Lord is his name,
who makes destruction flash forth against the strong,
    so that destruction comes upon the fortress.

They hate him who reproves in the gate,
    and they abhor him who speaks the truth.
Therefore because you trample upon the poor
    and take from him exactions of wheat,
you have built houses of hewn stone,
    but you shall not dwell in them;
you have planted pleasant vineyards,
    but you shall not drink their wine.
For I know how many are your transgressions,
    and how great are your sins—
you who afflict the righteous, who take a bribe,
    and turn aside the needy in the gate.
Therefore he who is prudent will keep silent in such a time;
    for it is an evil time.

Seek good, and not evil,
    that you may live;
and so the Lord, the God of hosts, will be with you,
    as you have said.
Hate evil, and love good,
    and establish justice in the gate;
it may be that the Lord, the God of hosts,
    will be gracious to the remnant of Joseph.

Therefore thus says the Lord, the God of hosts, the Lord:

“In all the squares there shall be wailing;
    and in all the streets they shall say, ‘Alas! alas!’
They shall call the farmers to mourning
    and to wailing those who are skilled in lamentation,
and in all vineyards there shall be wailing,
    for I will pass through the midst of you,”
                says the Lord.

St. Luke 20.41-21.4

But he said to them, “How can they say that the Christ is David’s son? For David himself says in the Book of Psalms,

‘The Lord said to my Lord,
Sit at my right hand,
till I make thy enemies a stool for thy feet.’

David thus calls him Lord; so how is he his son?”

And in the hearing of all the people he said to his disciples, “Beware of the scribes, who like to go about in long robes, and love salutations in the market places and the best seats in the synagogues and the places of honor at feasts, who devour widows’ houses and for a pretense make long prayers. They will receive the greater condemnation.”

He looked up and saw the rich putting their gifts into the treasury; and he saw a poor widow put in two copper coins. And he said, “Truly I tell you, this poor widow has put in more than all of them; for they all contributed out of their abundance, but she out of her poverty put in all the living that she had.”

The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, who art in heaven,
hallowed be thy name;
thy kingdom come;
thy will be done;
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our trespasses,
as we forgive those who
trespass against us.
And lead us not into temptation;
but deliver us from evil.
For thine is the kingdom,
the power and the glory,
for ever and ever.
Amen.

The Collect

Almighty God, give us grace that we may cast away the works of darkness, and put upon us the armor of light, now in the time of this mortal life in which thy Son Jesus Christ came to visit us in great humility; that in the last day, when he shall come again in his glorious majesty to judge both the quick and the dead, we may rise to the life immortal; through him who liveth and reigneth with thee and the Holy Ghost, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

