Midday Prayer 13th December 2016

I have laid up thy word in my heart,
    that I might not sin against thee. Psalm 119.11

Psalm 119.57-80

The Lord is my portion;
    I promise to keep thy words.
I entreat thy favor with all my heart;
    be gracious to me according to thy promise.
When I think of thy ways,
    I turn my feet to thy testimonies;
I hasten and do not delay
    to keep thy commandments.
Though the cords of the wicked ensnare me,
    I do not forget thy law.
At midnight I rise to praise thee,
    because of thy righteous ordinances.
I am a companion of all who fear thee,
    of those who keep thy precepts.
The earth, O Lord, is full of thy steadfast love;
    teach me thy statutes!

Thou hast dealt well with thy servant,
    O Lord, according to thy word.
Teach me good judgment and knowledge,
    for I believe in thy commandments.
Before I was afflicted I went astray;
    but now I keep thy word.
Thou art good and doest good;
    teach me thy statutes.
The godless besmear me with lies,
    but with my whole heart I keep thy precepts;
their heart is gross like fat,
    but I delight in thy law.
It is good for me that I was afflicted,
    that I might learn thy statutes.
The law of thy mouth is better to me
    than thousands of gold and silver pieces.

Thy hands have made and fashioned me;
    give me understanding that I may learn thy commandments.
Those who fear thee shall see me and rejoice,
    because I have hoped in thy word.
I know, O Lord, that thy judgments are right,
    and that in faithfulness thou hast afflicted me.
Let thy steadfast love be ready to comfort me
    according to thy promise to thy servant.
Let thy mercy come to me, that I may live;
    for thy law is my delight.
Let the godless be put to shame,
    because they have subverted me with guile;
    as for me, I will meditate on thy precepts.
Let those who fear thee turn to me,
    that they may know thy testimonies.
May my heart be blameless in thy statutes,
    that I may not be put to shame!
Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit:
as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world
without end. Amen.

St. Mark 1.1-5

The beginning of the gospel of Jesus Christ, the Son of God.

As it is written in Isaiah the prophet,

“Behold, I send my messenger before thy face,
who shall prepare thy way;
the voice of one crying in the wilderness:
Prepare the way of the Lord,
make his paths straight—”

John the baptizer appeared in the wilderness, preaching a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins. And there went out to him all the country of Judea, and all the people of Jerusalem; and they were baptized by him in the river Jordan, confessing their sins.

The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, who art in heaven,
hallowed be thy name;
thy kingdom come;
thy will be done;
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our trespasses,
as we forgive those who
trespass against us.
And lead us not into temptation;
but deliver us from evil.
For thine is the kingdom,
the power and the glory,
for ever and ever.
Amen.

The Collect

Stir up thy power, O Lord, and with great might come among us; and, because we are sorely hindered by our sins, let thy bountiful grace and mercy speedily help and deliver us; through Jesus Christ our Lord, to whom, with thee and the Holy Ghost, be honor and glory, world without end. Amen.

Leave a Reply

