Morning Prayer 15th December 2016

The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me,
because the Lord has anointed me
to bring good tidings to the afflicted. Isaiah 61.1

Psalm 50

The Mighty One, God the Lord,
speaks and summons the earth
    from the rising of the sun to its setting.
Out of Zion, the perfection of beauty,
    God shines forth.

Our God comes, he does not keep silence,
    before him is a devouring fire,
    round about him a mighty tempest.
He calls to the heavens above
    and to the earth, that he may judge his people:
“Gather to me my faithful ones,
    who made a covenant with me by sacrifice!”
The heavens declare his righteousness,
    for God himself is judge!Selah

“Hear, O my people, and I will speak,
    O Israel, I will testify against you.
    I am God, your God.
I do not reprove you for your sacrifices;
    your burnt offerings are continually before me.
I will accept no bull from your house,
    nor he-goat from your folds.
For every beast of the forest is mine,
    the cattle on a thousand hills.
I know all the birds of the air,
    and all that moves in the field is mine.

“If I were hungry, I would not tell you;
    for the world and all that is in it is mine.
Do I eat the flesh of bulls,
    or drink the blood of goats?
Offer to God a sacrifice of thanksgiving,
    and pay your vows to the Most High;
and call upon me in the day of trouble;
    I will deliver you, and you shall glorify me.”

But to the wicked God says:
    “What right have you to recite my statutes,
    or take my covenant on your lips?
For you hate discipline,
    and you cast my words behind you.
If you see a thief, you are a friend of his;
    and you keep company with adulterers.

“You give your mouth free rein for evil,
    and your tongue frames deceit.
You sit and speak against your brother;
    you slander your own mother’s son.
These things you have done and I have been silent;
    you thought that I was one like yourself.
But now I rebuke you, and lay the charge before you.

“Mark this, then, you who forget God,
    lest I rend, and there be none to deliver!
He who brings thanksgiving as his sacrifice honors me;
    to him who orders his way aright
    I will show the salvation of God!”
Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit:
as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen.

Isaiah 9.18-10.4

For wickedness burns like a fire,
    it consumes briers and thorns;
it kindles the thickets of the forest,
    and they roll upward in a column of smoke.
Through the wrath of the Lord of hosts
    the land is burned,
and the people are like fuel for the fire;
    no man spares his brother.
They snatch on the right, but are still hungry,
    and they devour on the left, but are not satisfied;
each devours his neighbor’s flesh,
Manas′seh E′phraim, and E′phraim Manas′seh,
    and together they are against Judah.
For all this his anger is not turned away
    and his hand is stretched out still.

Woe to those who decree iniquitous decrees,
    and the writers who keep writing oppression,
to turn aside the needy from justice
    and to rob the poor of my people of their right,
that widows may be their spoil,
    and that they may make the fatherless their prey!
What will you do on the day of punishment,
    in the storm which will come from afar?
To whom will you flee for help,
    and where will you leave your wealth?
Nothing remains but to crouch among the prisoners
    or fall among the slain.
For all this his anger is not turned away
    and his hand is stretched out still.

2 Peter 2.10b-16

Bold and wilful, they are not afraid to revile the glorious ones, whereas angels, though greater in might and power, do not pronounce a reviling judgment upon them before the Lord. But these, like irrational animals, creatures of instinct, born to be caught and killed, reviling in matters of which they are ignorant, will be destroyed in the same destruction with them, suffering wrong for their wrongdoing. They count it pleasure to revel in the daytime. They are blots and blemishes, reveling in their dissipation, carousing with you. They have eyes full of adultery, insatiable for sin. They entice unsteady souls. They have hearts trained in greed. Accursed children! Forsaking the right way they have gone astray; they have followed the way of Balaam, the son of Be′or, who loved gain from wrongdoing, but was rebuked for his own transgression; a dumb ass spoke with human voice and restrained the prophet’s madness.

The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, who art in heaven,
hallowed be thy name;
thy kingdom come;
thy will be done;
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our trespasses,
as we forgive those who
trespass against us.
And lead us not into temptation;
but deliver us from evil.
For thine is the kingdom,
the power and the glory,
for ever and ever.
Amen.

The Collect

Stir up thy power, O Lord, and with great might come among us; and, because we are sorely hindered by our sins, let thy bountiful grace and mercy speedily help and deliver us; through Jesus Christ our Lord, to whom, with thee and the Holy Ghost, be honor and glory, world without end. Amen.

Leave a Reply

