Morning Prayer 3rd March 2017

John and Charles Wesley, Priests, 1791, 1788

THE PREPARATION

O Lord, open our lips
and our mouth shall proclaim your praise.
Christ, though tempted like us, was without sin.
O come, let us worship.
Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.
THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 31

  1. In you, O Lord, I seek refuge;
    do not let me ever be put to shame;
    in your righteousness deliver me.
  2. Incline your ear to me;
    rescue me speedily.
    Be a rock of refuge for me,
    a strong fortress to save me.
  3. You are indeed my rock and my fortress;
    for your name’s sake lead me and guide me,
  4. take me out of the net that is hidden for me,
    for you are my refuge.
  5. Into your hand I commit my spirit;
    you have redeemed me, O Lord, faithful God.
  6. You hate those who pay regard to worthless idols,
    but I trust in the Lord.
  7. I will exult and rejoice in your steadfast love,
    because you have seen my affliction;
    you have taken heed of my adversities,
  8. and have not delivered me into the hand of the enemy;
    you have set my feet in a broad place.
  9. Be gracious to me, O Lord, for I am in distress;
    my eye wastes away from grief,
    my soul and body also.
  10. For my life is spent with sorrow,
    and my years with sighing;
    my strength fails because of my misery,
    and my bones waste away.
  11. I am the scorn of all my adversaries,
    a horror to my neighbours,
    an object of dread to my acquaintances;
    those who see me in the street flee from me.
  12. I have passed out of mind like one who is dead;
    I have become like a broken vessel.
  13. For I hear the whispering of many—
    terror all around!—
    as they scheme together against me,
    as they plot to take my life.
  14. But I trust in you, O Lord;
    I say, ‘You are my God.’
  15. My times are in your hand;
    deliver me from the hand of my enemies and persecutors.
  16. Let your face shine upon your servant;
    save me in your steadfast love.
  17. Do not let me be put to shame, O Lord,
    for I call on you;
    let the wicked be put to shame;
    let them go dumbfounded to Sheol.
  18. Let the lying lips be stilled
    that speak insolently against the righteous
    with pride and contempt.
  19. O how abundant is your goodness
    that you have laid up for those who fear you,
    and accomplished for those who take refuge in you,
    in the sight of everyone!
  20. In the shelter of your presence you hide them
    from human plots;
    you hold them safe under your shelter
    from contentious tongues.
  21. Blessed be the Lord,
    for he has wondrously shown his steadfast love to me
    when I was beset as a city under siege.
  22. I had said in my alarm,
    ‘I am driven far from your sight.’
    But you heard my supplications
    when I cried out to you for help.
  23. Love the Lord, all you his saints.
    The Lord preserves the faithful,
    but abundantly repays the one who acts haughtily.
  24. Be strong, and let your heart take courage,
    all you who wait for the Lord.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

If you heed these ordinances, by diligently observing them, the Lord your God will maintain with you the covenant loyalty that he swore to your ancestors; he will love you, bless you, and multiply you; he will bless the fruit of your womb and the fruit of your ground, your grain and your wine and your oil, the increase of your cattle and the issue of your flock, in the land that he swore to your ancestors to give you. You shall be the most blessed of peoples, with neither sterility nor barrenness among you or your livestock. The Lord will turn away from you every illness; all the dread diseases of Egypt that you experienced, he will not inflict on you, but he will lay them on all who hate you. You shall devour all the peoples that the Lord your God is giving over to you, showing them no pity; you shall not serve their gods, for that would be a snare to you. (Deuteronomy 7.12-16)

But as for you, teach what is consistent with sound doctrine. Tell the older men to be temperate, serious, prudent, and sound in faith, in love, and in endurance.

Likewise, tell the older women to be reverent in behaviour, not to be slanderers or slaves to drink; they are to teach what is good, so that they may encourage the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be self-controlled, chaste, good managers of the household, kind, being submissive to their husbands, so that the word of God may not be discredited.

Likewise, urge the younger men to be self-controlled. Show yourself in all respects a model of good works, and in your teaching show integrity, gravity, and sound speech that cannot be censured; then any opponent will be put to shame, having nothing evil to say of us.

Tell slaves to be submissive to their masters and to give satisfaction in every respect; they are not to answer back, not to pilfer, but to show complete and perfect fidelity, so that in everything they may be an ornament to the doctrine of God our Saviour.

For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation to all, training us to renounce impiety and worldly passions, and in the present age to live lives that are self-controlled, upright, and godly, while we wait for the blessed hope and the manifestation of the glory of our great God and Saviour, Jesus Christ. He it is who gave himself for us that he might redeem us from all iniquity and purify for himself a people of his own who are zealous for good deeds.

Declare these things; exhort and reprove with all authority. Let no one look down on you. (Titus 2.1-15)

John and Charles Wesley, Priests, 1791, 1788

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: BENEDICTUS – THE SONG OF ZECHARIAH

Blessèd are those who hunger and thirst
for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

  1. Blessèd be the Lord God of Israel,
    for he has looked favourably on his people and redeemed them.
  2. He has raised up a mighty saviour for us
    in the house of his servant David,
  3. as he spoke through the mouth of his holy prophets from of old,
  4. that we would be saved from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us.
  5. Thus he has shown the mercy promised to our ancestors,
    and has remembered his holy covenant,
  6. the oath that he swore to our ancestor Abraham,
    to grant us
  7. that we, being rescued from the hands of our enemies,
    might serve him without fear,
  8. in holiness and righteousness
    before him all our days.
  9. And you, child, will be called the prophet of the Most High;
    for you will go before the Lord to prepare his ways,
  10. to give knowledge of salvation to his people
    by the forgiveness of their sins.
  11. By the tender mercy of our God,
    the dawn from on high will break upon us,
  12. to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death,
    to guide our feet into the way of peace.’ (St Luke 1.68-79)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Blessèd are those who hunger and thirst
for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

God of mercy,
who inspired John and Charles Wesley with zeal for your gospel:
grant to all people boldness to proclaim your word
and a heart ever to rejoice in singing your praises;
through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

