Touchstone Archives: Passing Through the Sirens

Touchstone cover-25-04“Passing Through the Sirens: The Trials of the Christian Wayfarer in the World” by David Elliot is an excellent article for directing our thoughts this Lent.

An excerpt: “But suppose I did not think of myself as a regular person just aiming for a nice life. Suppose, without excluding the desire for happiness, I thought of myself primarily as a wayfarer on a literal quest. I would then recall that every wayfarer should expect to be waylaid, and therefore I should, too. Rather than being surprised by temptation and suffering, I would then encounter them with a sense of adventure: as foes or obstacles in via that I must overcome to arrive at the end of my quest, in patria.”

Read the article here: http://www.touchstonemag.com/archives/article.php?id=25-04-034-f

Leave a Reply

