Evening Prayer 4th March 2017

THE PREPARATION

O God, make speed to save us.
O Lord, make haste to help us.

Let your ways be known upon earth,
your saving power among the nations.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 42

  1. As a deer longs for flowing streams,
    so my soul longs for you, O God.
  2. My soul thirsts for God,
    for the living God.
    When shall I come and behold
    the face of God?
  3. My tears have been my food
    day and night,
    while people say to me continually,
    ‘Where is your God?’
  4. These things I remember,
    as I pour out my soul:
    how I went with the throng,
    and led them in procession to the house of God,
    with glad shouts and songs of thanksgiving,
    a multitude keeping festival.
  5. Why are you cast down, O my soul,
    and why are you disquieted within me?
    Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
    my help
  6. and my God.
    My soul is cast down within me;
    therefore I remember you
    from the land of Jordan and of Hermon,
    from Mount Mizar.
  7. Deep calls to deep
    at the thunder of your cataracts;
    all your waves and your billows
    have gone over me.
  8. By day the Lord commands his steadfast love,
    and at night his song is with me,
    a prayer to the God of my life.
  9. I say to God, my rock,
    ‘Why have you forgotten me?
    Why must I walk about mournfully
    because the enemy oppresses me?’
  10. As with a deadly wound in my body,
    my adversaries taunt me,
    while they say to me continually,
    ‘Where is your God?’
  11. Why are you cast down, O my soul,
    and why are you disquieted within me?
    Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
    my help and my God.

Psalm 43

  1. Vindicate me, O God, and defend my cause
    against an ungodly people;
    from those who are deceitful and unjust
    deliver me!
  2. For you are the God in whom I take refuge;
    why have you cast me off?
    Why must I walk about mournfully
    because of the oppression of the enemy?
  3. O send out your light and your truth;
    let them lead me;
    let them bring me to your holy hill
    and to your dwelling.
  4. Then I will go to the altar of God,
    to God my exceeding joy;
    and I will praise you with the harp,
    O God, my God.
  5. Why are you cast down, O my soul,
    and why are you disquieted within me?
    Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
    my help and my God.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

The next day Jesus decided to go to Galilee. He found Philip and said to him, ‘Follow me.’ Now Philip was from Bethsaida, the city of Andrew and Peter. Philip found Nathanael and said to him, ‘We have found him about whom Moses in the law and also the prophets wrote, Jesus son of Joseph from Nazareth.’ Nathanael said to him, ‘Can anything good come out of Nazareth?’ Philip said to him, ‘Come and see.’ When Jesus saw Nathanael coming towards him, he said of him, ‘Here is truly an Israelite in whom there is no deceit!’ Nathanael asked him, ‘Where did you come to know me?’ Jesus answered, ‘I saw you under the fig tree before Philip called you.’ Nathanael replied, ‘Rabbi, you are the Son of God! You are the King of Israel!’ Jesus answered, ‘Do you believe because I told you that I saw you under the fig tree? You will see greater things than these.’ And he said to him, ‘Very truly, I tell you, you will see heaven opened and the angels of God ascending and descending upon the Son of Man.’ (St John 1.43-51)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: MAGNIFICAT – THE SONG OF MARY

Come, let us return to the Lord,
for our God will richly pardon.

  1. And Mary said,
    ‘My soul magnifies the Lord,
  2. and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour,
  3. for he has looked with favour on the lowliness of his servant.
    Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed;
  4. for the Mighty One has done great things for me,
    and holy is his name.
  5. His mercy is for those who fear him
    from generation to generation.
  6. He has shown strength with his arm;
    he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.
  7. He has brought down the powerful from their thrones,
    and lifted up the lowly;
  8. he has filled the hungry with good things,
    and sent the rich away empty.
  9. He has helped his servant Israel,
    in remembrance of his mercy,
  10. according to the promise he made to our ancestors,
    to Abraham and to his descendants for ever.’ (St Luke 1.46-55)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Come, let us return to the Lord,
for our God will richly pardon.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Almighty God,
whose Son Jesus Christ fasted forty days in the wilderness,
and was tempted as we are, yet without sin:
give us grace to discipline ourselves in obedience to your Spirit;
and, as you know our weakness,
so may we know your power to save;
through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

