Morning Prayer 6th March 2017

THE PREPARATION

O Lord, open our lips
and our mouth shall proclaim your praise.

Christ, though tempted like us, was without sin.
O come, let us worship.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 41

  1. Happy are those who consider the poor;
    the Lord delivers them in the day of trouble.
  2. The Lord protects them and keeps them alive;
    they are called happy in the land.
    You do not give them up to the will of their enemies.
  3. The Lord sustains them on their sickbed;
    in their illness you heal all their infirmities.
  4. As for me, I said, ‘O Lord, be gracious to me;
    heal me, for I have sinned against you.’
  5. My enemies wonder in malice
    when I will die, and my name perish.
  6. And when they come to see me, they utter empty words,
    while their hearts gather mischief;
    when they go out, they tell it abroad.
  7. All who hate me whisper together about me;
    they imagine the worst for me.
  8. They think that a deadly thing has fastened on me,
    that I will not rise again from where I lie.
  9. Even my bosom friend in whom I trusted,
    who ate of my bread, has lifted the heel against me.
  10. But you, O Lord, be gracious to me,
    and raise me up, that I may repay them.
  11. By this I know that you are pleased with me;
    because my enemy has not triumphed over me.
  12. But you have upheld me because of my integrity,
    and set me in your presence for ever.
  13. Blessed be the Lord, the God of Israel,
    from everlasting to everlasting.Amen and Amen.

Psalm 52

  1. Why do you boast, O mighty one,
    of mischief done against the godly?
    All day long
  2. you are plotting destruction.
    Your tongue is like a sharp razor,
    you worker of treachery.
  3. You love evil more than good,
    and lying more than speaking the truth.
    Selah
  4. You love all words that devour,
    O deceitful tongue.
  5. But God will break you down for ever;
    he will snatch and tear you from your tent;
    he will uproot you from the land of the living.
    Selah
  6. The righteous will see, and fear,
    and will laugh at the evildoer, saying,
  7. ‘See the one who would not take
    refuge in God,
    but trusted in abundant riches,
    and sought refuge in wealth!’
  8. But I am like a green olive tree
    in the house of God.
    I trust in the steadfast love of God
    for ever and ever.
  9. I will thank you for ever,
    because of what you have done.
    In the presence of the faithful
    I will proclaim your name, for it is good.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Take care that you do not forget the Lord your God, by failing to keep his commandments, his ordinances, and his statutes, which I am commanding you today. When you have eaten your fill and have built fine houses and live in them, and when your herds and flocks have multiplied, and your silver and gold is multiplied, and all that you have is multiplied, then do not exalt yourself, forgetting the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery, who led you through the great and terrible wilderness, an arid waste-land with poisonous snakes and scorpions. He made water flow for you from flint rock, and fed you in the wilderness with manna that your ancestors did not know, to humble you and to test you, and in the end to do you good. Do not say to yourself, ‘My power and the might of my own hand have gained me this wealth.’ But remember the Lord your God, for it is he who gives you power to get wealth, so that he may confirm his covenant that he swore to your ancestors, as he is doing today. If you do forget the Lord your God and follow other gods to serve and worship them, I solemnly warn you today that you shall surely perish. Like the nations that the Lord is destroying before you, so shall you perish, because you would not obey the voice of the Lord your God. (Deuteronomy 8.11-20)

For the one who sanctifies and those who are sanctified all have one Father. For this reason Jesus is not ashamed to call them brothers and sisters, saying,
‘I will proclaim your name to my brothers and sisters,
in the midst of the congregation I will praise you.’
And again,
‘I will put my trust in him.’
And again,
‘Here am I and the children whom God has given me.’

Since, therefore, the children share flesh and blood, he himself likewise shared the same things, so that through death he might destroy the one who has the power of death, that is, the devil, and free those who all their lives were held in slavery by the fear of death. For it is clear that he did not come to help angels, but the descendants of Abraham. Therefore he had to become like his brothers and sisters in every respect, so that he might be a merciful and faithful high priest in the service of God, to make a sacrifice of atonement for the sins of the people. Because he himself was tested by what he suffered, he is able to help those who are being tested. (Hebrews 2.11-18)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: BENEDICTUS – THE SONG OF ZECHARIAH

Blessèd are those who hunger and thirst
for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

  1. Blessèd be the Lord God of Israel,
    for he has looked favourably on his people and redeemed them.
  2. He has raised up a mighty saviour for us
    in the house of his servant David,
  3. as he spoke through the mouth of his holy prophets from of old,
  4. that we would be saved from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us.
  5. Thus he has shown the mercy promised to our ancestors,
    and has remembered his holy covenant,
  6. the oath that he swore to our ancestor Abraham,
    to grant us
  7. that we, being rescued from the hands of our enemies,
    might serve him without fear,
  8. in holiness and righteousness
    before him all our days.
  9. And you, child, will be called the prophet of the Most High;
    for you will go before the Lord to prepare his ways,
  10. to give knowledge of salvation to his people
    by the forgiveness of their sins.
  11. By the tender mercy of our God,
    the dawn from on high will break upon us,
  12. to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death,
    to guide our feet into the way of peace.’ (St Luke 1.68-79)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Blessèd are those who hunger and thirst
for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Almighty God,
whose Son Jesus Christ fasted forty days in the wilderness,
and was tempted as we are, yet without sin:
give us grace to discipline ourselves in obedience to your Spirit;
and, as you know our weakness,
so may we know your power to save;
through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

