Morning Prayer 8th March 2017

THE PREPARATION

O Lord, open our lips
and our mouth shall proclaim your praise.

Christ, though tempted like us, was without sin.
O come, let us worship.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 119.49-72

  1. Remember your word to your servant,
    in which you have made me hope.
  2. This is my comfort in my distress,
    that your promise gives me life.
  3. The arrogant utterly deride me,
    but I do not turn away from your law.
  4. When I think of your ordinances from of old,
    I take comfort, O Lord.
  5. Hot indignation seizes me because of the wicked,
    those who forsake your law.
  6. Your statutes have been my songs
    wherever I make my home.
  7. I remember your name in the night, O Lord,
    and keep your law.
  8. This blessing has fallen to me,
    for I have kept your precepts.
  9. The Lord is my portion;
    I promise to keep your words.
  10. I implore your favour with all my heart;
    be gracious to me according to your promise.
  11. When I think of your ways,
    I turn my feet to your decrees;
  12. I hurry and do not delay
    to keep your commandments.
  13. Though the cords of the wicked ensnare me,
    I do not forget your law.
  14. At midnight I rise to praise you,
    because of your righteous ordinances.
  15. I am a companion of all who fear you,
    of those who keep your precepts.
  16. The earth, O Lord, is full of your steadfast love;
    teach me your statutes.
  17. You have dealt well with your servant,
    O Lord, according to your word.
  18. Teach me good judgement and knowledge,
    for I believe in your commandments.
  19. Before I was humbled I went astray,
    but now I keep your word.
  20. You are good and do good;
    teach me your statutes.
  21. The arrogant smear me with lies,
    but with my whole heart I keep your precepts.
  22. Their hearts are fat and gross,
    but I delight in your law.
  23. It is good for me that I was humbled,
    so that I might learn your statutes.
  24. The law of your mouth is better to me
    than thousands of gold and silver pieces.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Furthermore, the Lord said to me, ‘I have seen that this people is indeed a stubborn people. Let me alone that I may destroy them and blot out their name from under heaven; and I will make of you a nation mightier and more numerous than they.’

So I turned and went down from the mountain, while the mountain was ablaze; the two tablets of the covenant were in my two hands. Then I saw that you had indeed sinned against the Lord your God, by casting for yourselves an image of a calf; you had been quick to turn from the way that the Lord had commanded you. So I took hold of the two tablets and flung them from my two hands, smashing them before your eyes. Then I lay prostrate before the Lord as before, for forty days and forty nights; I neither ate bread nor drank water, because of all the sin you had committed, provoking the Lord by doing what was evil in his sight. For I was afraid that the anger that the Lord bore against you was so fierce that he would destroy you. But the Lord listened to me that time also. The Lord was so angry with Aaron that he was ready to destroy him, but I interceded also on behalf of Aaron at that same time. Then I took the sinful thing you had made, the calf, and burned it with fire and crushed it, grinding it thoroughly, until it was reduced to dust; and I threw the dust of it into the stream that runs down the mountain. (Deuteronomy 9.13-21)

Take care, brothers and sisters, that none of you may have an evil, unbelieving heart that turns away from the living God. But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called ‘today’, so that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin. For we have become partners of Christ, if only we hold our first confidence firm to the end. As it is said,
‘Today, if you hear his voice,
do not harden your hearts as in the rebellion.’
Now who were they who heard and yet were rebellious? Was it not all those who left Egypt under the leadership of Moses? But with whom was he angry for forty years? Was it not those who sinned, whose bodies fell in the wilderness? And to whom did he swear that they would not enter his rest, if not to those who were disobedient? So we see that they were unable to enter because of unbelief. (Hebrews 3.12-19)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: BENEDICTUS – THE SONG OF ZECHARIAH

Blessèd are those who hunger and thirst
for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

  1. Blessèd be the Lord God of Israel,
    for he has looked favourably on his people and redeemed them.
  2. He has raised up a mighty saviour for us
    in the house of his servant David,
  3. as he spoke through the mouth of his holy prophets from of old,
  4. that we would be saved from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us.
  5. Thus he has shown the mercy promised to our ancestors,
    and has remembered his holy covenant,
  6. the oath that he swore to our ancestor Abraham,
    to grant us
  7. that we, being rescued from the hands of our enemies,
    might serve him without fear,
  8. in holiness and righteousness
    before him all our days.
  9. And you, child, will be called the prophet of the Most High;
    for you will go before the Lord to prepare his ways,
  10. to give knowledge of salvation to his people
    by the forgiveness of their sins.
  11. By the tender mercy of our God,
    the dawn from on high will break upon us,
  12. to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death,
    to guide our feet into the way of peace.’ (St Luke 1.68-79)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Blessèd are those who hunger and thirst
for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Almighty God,
whose Son Jesus Christ fasted forty days in the wilderness,
and was tempted as we are, yet without sin:
give us grace to discipline ourselves in obedience to your Spirit;
and, as you know our weakness,
so may we know your power to save;
through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

