Evening Prayer 10th March 2017

THE PREPARATION

O God, make speed to save us.
O Lord, make haste to help us.

Let your ways be known upon earth,
your saving power among the nations.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 51

  1. Have mercy on me, O God,
    according to your steadfast love;
    according to your abundant mercy
    blot out my transgressions.
  2. Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity,
    and cleanse me from my sin.
  3. For I know my transgressions,
    and my sin is ever before me.
  4. Against you, you alone, have I sinned,
    and done what is evil in your sight,
    so that you are justified in your sentence
    and blameless when you pass judgement.
  5. Indeed, I was born guilty,
    a sinner when my mother conceived me.
  6. You desire truth in the inward being;
    therefore teach me wisdom in my secret heart.
  7. Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean;
    wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.
  8. Let me hear joy and gladness;
    let the bones that you have crushed rejoice.
  9. Hide your face from my sins,
    and blot out all my iniquities.
  10. Create in me a clean heart, O God,
    and put a new and right spirit within me.
  11. Do not cast me away from your presence,
    and do not take your holy spirit from me.
  12. Restore to me the joy of your salvation,
    and sustain in me a willing spirit.
  13. Then I will teach transgressors your ways,
    and sinners will return to you.
  14. Deliver me from bloodshed, O God,
    O God of my salvation,
    and my tongue will sing aloud of your deliverance.
  15. O Lord, open my lips,
    and my mouth will declare your praise.
  16. For you have no delight in sacrifice;
    if I were to give a burnt-offering, you would not be pleased.
  17. The sacrifice acceptable to God is a broken spirit;
    a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.
  18. Do good to Zion in your good pleasure;
    rebuild the walls of Jerusalem,
  19. then you will delight in right sacrifices,
    in burnt-offerings and whole burnt-offerings;
    then bulls will be offered on your altar.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

After this Jesus and his disciples went into the Judean countryside, and he spent some time there with them and baptized. John also was baptizing at Aenon near Salim because water was abundant there; and people kept coming and were being baptized— John, of course, had not yet been thrown into prison.

Now a discussion about purification arose between John’s disciples and a Jew. They came to John and said to him, ‘Rabbi, the one who was with you across the Jordan, to whom you testified, here he is baptizing, and all are going to him.’ John answered, ‘No one can receive anything except what has been given from heaven. You yourselves are my witnesses that I said, “I am not the Messiah, but I have been sent ahead of him.” He who has the bride is the bridegroom. The friend of the bridegroom, who stands and hears him, rejoices greatly at the bridegroom’s voice. For this reason my joy has been fulfilled. He must increase, but I must decrease.’
The one who comes from above is above all; the one who is of the earth belongs to the earth and speaks about earthly things. The one who comes from heaven is above all. He testifies to what he has seen and heard, yet no one accepts his testimony. Whoever has accepted his testimony has certified this, that God is true. He whom God has sent speaks the words of God, for he gives the Spirit without measure. The Father loves the Son and has placed all things in his hands. Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life; whoever disobeys the Son will not see life, but must endure God’s wrath. (St John 3.22-36)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: MAGNIFICAT – THE SONG OF MARY

Come, let us return to the Lord,
for our God will richly pardon.

  1. And Mary said,
    ‘My soul magnifies the Lord,
  2. and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour,
  3. for he has looked with favour on the lowliness of his servant.
    Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed;
  4. for the Mighty One has done great things for me,
    and holy is his name.
  5. His mercy is for those who fear him
    from generation to generation.
  6. He has shown strength with his arm;
    he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.
  7. He has brought down the powerful from their thrones,
    and lifted up the lowly;
  8. he has filled the hungry with good things,
    and sent the rich away empty.
  9. He has helped his servant Israel,
    in remembrance of his mercy,
  10. according to the promise he made to our ancestors,
    to Abraham and to his descendants for ever.’ (St Luke 1.46-55)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Come, let us return to the Lord,
for our God will richly pardon.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Almighty God,
whose Son Jesus Christ fasted forty days in the wilderness,
and was tempted as we are, yet without sin:
give us grace to discipline ourselves in obedience to your Spirit;
and, as you know our weakness,
so may we know your power to save;
through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

