Evening Prayer 18th March 2017

THE PREPARATION

O God, make speed to save us.
O Lord, make haste to help us.

Let your ways be known upon earth,
your saving power among the nations.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 23

  1. The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.
  2. He makes me lie down in green pastures;
    he leads me beside still waters;
  3. he restores my soul.
    He leads me in right paths
    for his name’s sake.
  4. Even though I walk through the darkest valley,
    I fear no evil;
    for you are with me;
    your rod and your staff—
    they comfort me.
  5. You prepare a table before me
    in the presence of my enemies;
    you anoint my head with oil;
    my cup overflows.
  6. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
    all the days of my life,
    and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord
    my whole life long.

Psalm 27

  1. The Lord is my light and my salvation;
    whom shall I fear?
    The Lord is the stronghold of my life;
    of whom shall I be afraid?
  2. When evildoers assail me
    to devour my flesh—
    my adversaries and foes—
    they shall stumble and fall.
  3. Though an army encamp against me,
    my heart shall not fear;
    though war rise up against me,
    yet I will be confident.
  4. One thing I asked of the Lord,
    that will I seek after:
    to live in the house of the Lord
    all the days of my life,
    to behold the beauty of the Lord,
    and to inquire in his temple.
  5. For he will hide me in his shelter
    in the day of trouble;
    he will conceal me under the cover of his tent;
    he will set me high on a rock.
  6. Now my head is lifted up
    above my enemies all around me,
    and I will offer in his tent
    sacrifices with shouts of joy;
    I will sing and make melody to the Lord.
  7. Hear, O Lord, when I cry aloud,
    be gracious to me and answer me!
  8. ‘Come,’ my heart says, ‘seek his face!’
    Your face, Lord, do I seek.
  9. Do not hide your face from me.
    Do not turn your servant away in anger,
    you who have been my help.
    Do not cast me off, do not forsake me,
    O God of my salvation!
  10. If my father and mother forsake me,
    the Lord will take me up.
  11. Teach me your way, O Lord,
    and lead me on a level path
    because of my enemies.
  12. Do not give me up to the will of my adversaries,
    for false witnesses have risen against me,
    and they are breathing out violence.
  13. I believe that I shall see the goodness of the Lord
    in the land of the living.
  14. Wait for the Lord;
    be strong, and let your heart take courage;
    wait for the Lord!

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

After this Jesus went about in Galilee. He did not wish to go about in Judea because the Jews were looking for an opportunity to kill him. Now the Jewish festival of Booths was near. So his brothers said to him, ‘Leave here and go to Judea so that your disciples also may see the works you are doing; for no one who wants to be widely known acts in secret. If you do these things, show yourself to the world.’ (For not even his brothers believed in him.) Jesus said to them, ‘My time has not yet come, but your time is always here. The world cannot hate you, but it hates me because I testify against it that its works are evil. Go to the festival yourselves. I am not going to this festival, for my time has not yet fully come.’ After saying this, he remained in Galilee.

But after his brothers had gone to the festival, then he also went, not publicly but as it were in secret. The Jews were looking for him at the festival and saying, ‘Where is he?’ And there was considerable complaining about him among the crowds. While some were saying, ‘He is a good man’, others were saying, ‘No, he is deceiving the crowd.’ Yet no one would speak openly about him for fear of the Jews. (St John 7.1-13)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: MAGNIFICAT – THE SONG OF MARY

Come, let us return to the Lord,
for our God will richly pardon.

  1. And Mary said,
    ‘My soul magnifies the Lord,
  2. and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour,
  3. for he has looked with favour on the lowliness of his servant.
    Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed;
  4. for the Mighty One has done great things for me,
    and holy is his name.
  5. His mercy is for those who fear him
    from generation to generation.
  6. He has shown strength with his arm;
    he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.
  7. He has brought down the powerful from their thrones,
    and lifted up the lowly;
  8. he has filled the hungry with good things,
    and sent the rich away empty.
  9. He has helped his servant Israel,
    in remembrance of his mercy,
  10. according to the promise he made to our ancestors,
    to Abraham and to his descendants for ever.’ (St Luke 1.46-55)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Come, let us return to the Lord,
for our God will richly pardon.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Almighty God,
whose most dear Son went not up to joy but first he suffered pain,
and entered not into glory before he was crucified:
mercifully grant that we, walking in the way of the cross,
may find it none other than the way of life and peace;
through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

See also: Exposition of the Lord’s Prayer by Cyril of Jerusalem, 347

Leave a Reply

