Evening Prayer 22nd March 2017

THE PREPARATION

O God, make speed to save us.
O Lord, make haste to help us.

Let your ways be known upon earth,
your saving power among the nations.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 81

  1. Sing aloud to God our strength;
    shout for joy to the God of Jacob.
  2. Raise a song, sound the tambourine,
    the sweet lyre with the harp.
  3. Blow the trumpet at the new moon,
    at the full moon, on our festal day.
  4. For it is a statute for Israel,
    an ordinance of the God of Jacob.
  5. He made it a decree in Joseph,
    when he went out over the land of Egypt.
    I hear a voice I had not known:
  6. ‘I relieved your shoulder of the burden;
    your hands were freed from the basket.
  7. In distress you called, and I rescued you;
    I answered you in the secret place of thunder;
    I tested you at the waters of Meribah.
    Selah
  8. Hear, O my people, while I admonish you;
    O Israel, if you would but listen to me!
  9. There shall be no strange god among you;
    you shall not bow down to a foreign god.
  10. I am the Lord your God,
    who brought you up out of the land of Egypt.
    Open your mouth wide and I will fill it.
  11. ‘But my people did not listen to my voice;
    Israel would not submit to me.
  12. So I gave them over to their stubborn hearts,
    to follow their own counsels.
  13. O that my people would listen to me,
    that Israel would walk in my ways!
  14. Then I would quickly subdue their enemies,
    and turn my hand against their foes.
  15. Those who hate the Lord would cringe before him,
    and their doom would last for ever.
  16. I would feed you with the finest of the wheat,
    and with honey from the rock I would satisfy you.’

Psalm 82

  1. God has taken his place in the divine council;
    in the midst of the gods he holds judgement:
  2. ‘How long will you judge unjustly
    and show partiality to the wicked?
    Selah
  3. Give justice to the weak and the orphan;
    maintain the right of the lowly and the destitute.
  4. Rescue the weak and the needy;
    deliver them from the hand of the wicked.’
  5. They have neither knowledge nor understanding,
    they walk around in darkness;
    all the foundations of the earth are shaken.
  6. I say, ‘You are gods,
    children of the Most High, all of you;
  7. nevertheless, you shall die like mortals,
    and fall like any prince.’
  8. Rise up, O God, judge the earth;
    for all the nations belong to you!

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, ‘I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness but will have the light of life.’ Then the Pharisees said to him, ‘You are testifying on your own behalf; your testimony is not valid.’ Jesus answered, ‘Even if I testify on my own behalf, my testimony is valid because I know where I have come from and where I am going, but you do not know where I come from or where I am going. You judge by human standards; I judge no one. Yet even if I do judge, my judgement is valid; for it is not I alone who judge, but I and the Father who sent me. In your law it is written that the testimony of two witnesses is valid. I testify on my own behalf, and the Father who sent me testifies on my behalf.’ Then they said to him, ‘Where is your Father?’ Jesus answered, ‘You know neither me nor my Father. If you knew me, you would know my Father also.’ He spoke these words while he was teaching in the treasury of the temple, but no one arrested him, because his hour had not yet come. (St John 8.12-20)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: MAGNIFICAT – THE SONG OF MARY

Come, let us return to the Lord,
for our God will richly pardon.

  1. And Mary said,
    ‘My soul magnifies the Lord,
  2. and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour,
  3. for he has looked with favour on the lowliness of his servant.
    Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed;
  4. for the Mighty One has done great things for me,
    and holy is his name.
  5. His mercy is for those who fear him
    from generation to generation.
  6. He has shown strength with his arm;
    he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.
  7. He has brought down the powerful from their thrones,
    and lifted up the lowly;
  8. he has filled the hungry with good things,
    and sent the rich away empty.
  9. He has helped his servant Israel,
    in remembrance of his mercy,
  10. according to the promise he made to our ancestors,
    to Abraham and to his descendants for ever.’ (St Luke 1.46-55)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Come, let us return to the Lord,
for our God will richly pardon.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Almighty God,
whose most dear Son went not up to joy but first he suffered pain,
and entered not into glory before he was crucified:
mercifully grant that we, walking in the way of the cross,
may find it none other than the way of life and peace;
through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

