Morning Prayer 22nd March 2017

THE PREPARATION

O Lord, open our lips
and our mouth shall proclaim your praise.

Christ, though tempted like us, was without sin.
O come, let us worship.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 119.97-120

  1. Oh, how I love your law!
    It is my meditation all day long.
  2. Your commandment makes me wiser than my enemies,
    for it is always with me.
  3. I have more understanding than all my teachers,
    for your decrees are my meditation.
  4. I understand more than the aged,
    for I keep your precepts.
  5. I hold back my feet from every evil way,
    in order to keep your word.
  6. I do not turn away from your ordinances,
    for you have taught me.
  7. How sweet are your words to my taste,
    sweeter than honey to my mouth!
  8. Through your precepts I get understanding;
    therefore I hate every false way.
  9. Your word is a lamp to my feet
    and a light to my path.
  10. I have sworn an oath and confirmed it,
    to observe your righteous ordinances.
  11. I am severely afflicted;
    give me life, O Lord, according to your word.
  12. Accept my offerings of praise, O Lord,
    and teach me your ordinances.
  13. I hold my life in my hand continually,
    but I do not forget your law.
  14. The wicked have laid a snare for me,
    but I do not stray from your precepts.
  15. Your decrees are my heritage for ever;
    they are the joy of my heart.
  16. I incline my heart to perform your statutes
    for ever, to the end.
  17. I hate the double-minded,
    but I love your law.
  18. You are my hiding-place and my shield;
    I hope in your word.
  19. Go away from me, you evildoers,
    that I may keep the commandments of my God.
  20. Uphold me according to your promise, that I may live,
    and let me not be put to shame in my hope.
  21. Hold me up, that I may be safe
    and have regard for your statutes continually.
  22. You spurn all who go astray from your statutes;
    for their cunning is in vain.
  23. All the wicked of the earth you count as dross;
    therefore I love your decrees.
  24. My flesh trembles for fear of you,
    and I am afraid of your judgements.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

My joy is gone, grief is upon me,
my heart is sick.
Hark, the cry of my poor people
from far and wide in the land:
‘Is the Lord not in Zion?
Is her King not in her?’
(‘Why have they provoked me to anger with their images,
with their foreign idols?’)
‘The harvest is past, the summer is ended,
and we are not saved.’
For the hurt of my poor people I am hurt,
I mourn, and dismay has taken hold of me.

Is there no balm in Gilead?
Is there no physician there?
Why then has the health of my poor people
not been restored?

O that my head were a spring of water,
and my eyes a fountain of tears,
so that I might weep day and night
for the slain of my poor people!
O that I had in the desert
a traveller’s lodging-place,
that I might leave my people
and go away from them!
For they are all adulterers,
a band of traitors.
They bend their tongues like bows;
they have grown strong in the land for falsehood, and not for truth;
for they proceed from evil to evil,
and they do not know me, says the Lord.

Beware of your neighbours,
and put no trust in any of your kin;
for all your kin are supplanters,
and every neighbour goes around like a slanderer.
They all deceive their neighbours,
and no one speaks the truth;
they have taught their tongues to speak lies;
they commit iniquity and are too weary to repent.
Oppression upon oppression, deceit upon deceit!
They refuse to know me, says the Lord. (Jeremiah 8.18-9.6)

Therefore, since we are justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have obtained access to this grace in which we stand; and we boast in our hope of sharing the glory of God. And not only that, but we also boast in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not disappoint us, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit that has been given to us.

For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. Indeed, rarely will anyone die for a righteous person—though perhaps for a good person someone might actually dare to die. But God proves his love for us in that while we still were sinners Christ died for us. Much more surely then, now that we have been justified by his blood, will we be saved through him from the wrath of God. For if while we were enemies, we were reconciled to God through the death of his Son, much more surely, having been reconciled, will we be saved by his life. But more than that, we even boast in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation. (Romans 5.1-11)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: BENEDICTUS – THE SONG OF ZECHARIAH

Blessèd are those who hunger and thirst
for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

  1. Blessèd be the Lord God of Israel,
    for he has looked favourably on his people and redeemed them.
  2. He has raised up a mighty saviour for us
    in the house of his servant David,
  3. as he spoke through the mouth of his holy prophets from of old,
  4. that we would be saved from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us.
  5. Thus he has shown the mercy promised to our ancestors,
    and has remembered his holy covenant,
  6. the oath that he swore to our ancestor Abraham,
    to grant us
  7. that we, being rescued from the hands of our enemies,
    might serve him without fear,
  8. in holiness and righteousness
    before him all our days.
  9. And you, child, will be called the prophet of the Most High;
    for you will go before the Lord to prepare his ways,
  10. to give knowledge of salvation to his people
    by the forgiveness of their sins.
  11. By the tender mercy of our God,
    the dawn from on high will break upon us,
  12. to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death,
    to guide our feet into the way of peace.’ (St Luke 1.68-79)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Blessèd are those who hunger and thirst
for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Almighty God,
whose most dear Son went not up to joy but first he suffered pain,
and entered not into glory before he was crucified:
mercifully grant that we, walking in the way of the cross,
may find it none other than the way of life and peace;
through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

