Evening Prayer 23rd March 2017

THE PREPARATION

O God, make speed to save us.
O Lord, make haste to help us.

Let your ways be known upon earth,
your saving power among the nations.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 85

  1. Lord, you were favourable to your land;
    you restored the fortunes of Jacob.
  2. You forgave the iniquity of your people;
    you pardoned all their sin.
    Selah
  3. You withdrew all your wrath;
    you turned from your hot anger.
  4. Restore us again, O God of our salvation,
    and put away your indignation towards us.
  5. Will you be angry with us for ever?
    Will you prolong your anger to all generations?
  6. Will you not revive us again,
    so that your people may rejoice in you?
  7. Show us your steadfast love, O Lord,
    and grant us your salvation.
  8. Let me hear what God the Lord will speak,
    for he will speak peace to his people,
    to his faithful, to those who turn to him in their hearts.
  9. Surely his salvation is at hand for those who fear him,
    that his glory may dwell in our land.
  10. Steadfast love and faithfulness will meet;
    righteousness and peace will kiss each other.
  11. Faithfulness will spring up from the ground,
    and righteousness will look down from the sky.
  12. The Lord will give what is good,
    and our land will yield its increase.
  13. Righteousness will go before him,
    and will make a path for his steps.

Psalm 86

  1. Incline your ear, O Lord, and answer me,
    for I am poor and needy.
  2. Preserve my life, for I am devoted to you;
    save your servant who trusts in you.
    You are my God;
  3. be gracious to me, O Lord,
    for to you do I cry all day long.
  4. Gladden the soul of your servant,
    for to you, O Lord, I lift up my soul.
  5. For you, O Lord, are good and forgiving,
    abounding in steadfast love to all who call on you.
  6. Give ear, O Lord, to my prayer;
    listen to my cry of supplication.
  7. In the day of my trouble I call on you,
    for you will answer me.
  8. There is none like you among the gods, O Lord,
    nor are there any works like yours.
  9. All the nations you have made shall come
    and bow down before you, O Lord,
    and shall glorify your name.
  10. For you are great and do wondrous things;
    you alone are God.
  11. Teach me your way, O Lord,
    that I may walk in your truth;
    give me an undivided heart to revere your name.
  12. I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart,
    and I will glorify your name for ever.
  13. For great is your steadfast love towards me;
    you have delivered my soul from the depths of Sheol.
  14. O God, the insolent rise up against me;
    a band of ruffians seeks my life,
    and they do not set you before them.
  15. But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious,
    slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness.
  16. Turn to me and be gracious to me;
    give your strength to your servant;
    save the child of your serving-maid.
  17. Show me a sign of your favour,
    so that those who hate me may see it and be put to shame,
    because you, Lord, have helped me and comforted me.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Again he said to them, ‘I am going away, and you will search for me, but you will die in your sin. Where I am going, you cannot come.’ Then the Jews said, ‘Is he going to kill himself? Is that what he means by saying, “Where I am going, you cannot come”?’ He said to them, ‘You are from below, I am from above; you are of this world, I am not of this world. I told you that you would die in your sins, for you will die in your sins unless you believe that I am he.’ They said to him, ‘Who are you?’ Jesus said to them, ‘Why do I speak to you at all? I have much to say about you and much to condemn; but the one who sent me is true, and I declare to the world what I have heard from him.’ They did not understand that he was speaking to them about the Father. So Jesus said, ‘When you have lifted up the Son of Man, then you will realize that I am he, and that I do nothing on my own, but I speak these things as the Father instructed me. And the one who sent me is with me; he has not left me alone, for I always do what is pleasing to him.’ As he was saying these things, many believed in him.

Then Jesus said to the Jews who had believed in him, ‘If you continue in my word, you are truly my disciples; and you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.’ (St John 8.21-32)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: MAGNIFICAT – THE SONG OF MARY

Come, let us return to the Lord,
for our God will richly pardon.

  1. And Mary said,
    ‘My soul magnifies the Lord,
  2. and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour,
  3. for he has looked with favour on the lowliness of his servant.
    Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed;
  4. for the Mighty One has done great things for me,
    and holy is his name.
  5. His mercy is for those who fear him
    from generation to generation.
  6. He has shown strength with his arm;
    he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.
  7. He has brought down the powerful from their thrones,
    and lifted up the lowly;
  8. he has filled the hungry with good things,
    and sent the rich away empty.
  9. He has helped his servant Israel,
    in remembrance of his mercy,
  10. according to the promise he made to our ancestors,
    to Abraham and to his descendants for ever.’ (St Luke 1.46-55)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Come, let us return to the Lord,
for our God will richly pardon.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Almighty God,
whose most dear Son went not up to joy but first he suffered pain,
and entered not into glory before he was crucified:
mercifully grant that we, walking in the way of the cross,
may find it none other than the way of life and peace;
through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

