Morning Prayer 28th March 2017

THE PREPARATION

O Lord, open our lips
and our mouth shall proclaim your praise.

Christ, though tempted like us, was without sin.
O come, let us worship.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 97

  1. The Lord is king! Let the earth rejoice;
    let the many coastlands be glad!
  2. Clouds and thick darkness are all around him;
    righteousness and justice are the foundation of his throne.
  3. Fire goes before him,
    and consumes his adversaries on every side.
  4. His lightnings light up the world;
    the earth sees and trembles.
  5. The mountains melt like wax before the Lord,
    before the Lord of all the earth.
  6. The heavens proclaim his righteousness;
    and all the peoples behold his glory.
  7. All worshippers of images are put to shame,
    those who make their boast in worthless idols;
    all gods bow down before him.
  8. Zion hears and is glad,
    and the towns of Judah rejoice,
    because of your judgements, O God.
  9. For you, O Lord, are most high over all the earth;
    you are exalted far above all gods.
  10. The Lord loves those who hate evil;
    he guards the lives of his faithful;
    he rescues them from the hand of the wicked.
  11. Light dawns for the righteous,
    and joy for the upright in heart.
  12. Rejoice in the Lord, O you righteous,
    and give thanks to his holy name!

Psalm 99

  1. The Lord is king; let the peoples tremble!
    He sits enthroned upon the cherubim; let the earth quake!
  2. The Lord is great in Zion;
    he is exalted over all the peoples.
  3. Let them praise your great and awesome name.
    Holy is he!
  4. Mighty King, lover of justice,
    you have established equity;
    you have executed justice
    and righteousness in Jacob.
  5. Extol the Lord our God;
    worship at his footstool.
    Holy is he!
  6. Moses and Aaron were among his priests,
    Samuel also was among those who called on his name.
    They cried to the Lord, and he answered them.
  7. He spoke to them in the pillar of cloud;
    they kept his decrees,
    and the statutes that he gave them.
  8. O Lord our God, you answered them;
    you were a forgiving God to them,
    but an avenger of their wrongdoings.
  9. Extol the Lord our God,
    and worship at his holy mountain;
    for the Lord our God is holy.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Thus said the Lord to me: Go and stand in the People’s Gate, by which the kings of Judah enter and by which they go out, and in all the gates of Jerusalem, and say to them: Hear the word of the Lord, you kings of Judah, and all Judah, and all the inhabitants of Jerusalem, who enter by these gates. Thus says the Lord: For the sake of your lives, take care that you do not bear a burden on the sabbath day or bring it in by the gates of Jerusalem. And do not carry a burden out of your houses on the sabbath or do any work, but keep the sabbath day holy, as I commanded your ancestors. Yet they did not listen or incline their ear; they stiffened their necks and would not hear or receive instruction.

But if you listen to me, says the Lord, and bring in no burden by the gates of this city on the sabbath day, but keep the sabbath day holy and do no work on it, then there shall enter by the gates of this city kings who sit on the throne of David, riding in chariots and on horses, they and their officials, the people of Judah and the inhabitants of Jerusalem; and this city shall be inhabited for ever. And people shall come from the towns of Judah and the places around Jerusalem, from the land of Benjamin, from the Shephelah, from the hill country, and from the Negeb, bringing burnt-offerings and sacrifices, grain-offerings and frankincense, and bringing thank-offerings to the house of the Lord. But if you do not listen to me, to keep the sabbath day holy, and to carry in no burden through the gates of Jerusalem on the sabbath day, then I will kindle a fire in its gates; it shall devour the palaces of Jerusalem and shall not be quenched. (Jeremiah 17.19-27)

Did what is good, then, bring death to me? By no means! It was sin, working death in me through what is good, in order that sin might be shown to be sin, and through the commandment might become sinful beyond measure.

For we know that the law is spiritual; but I am of the flesh, sold into slavery under sin. I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. Now if I do what I do not want, I agree that the law is good. But in fact it is no longer I that do it, but sin that dwells within me. For I know that nothing good dwells within me, that is, in my flesh. I can will what is right, but I cannot do it. For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I do. Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I that do it, but sin that dwells within me.

So I find it to be a law that when I want to do what is good, evil lies close at hand. For I delight in the law of God in my inmost self, but I see in my members another law at war with the law of my mind, making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!

So then, with my mind I am a slave to the law of God, but with my flesh I am a slave to the law of sin. (Romans 7.13-25)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: BENEDICTUS – THE SONG OF ZECHARIAH

Blessèd are those who hunger and thirst
for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

  1. Blessèd be the Lord God of Israel,for he has looked favourably on his people and redeemed them.
  2. He has raised up a mighty saviour for usin the house of his servant David,
  3. as he spoke through the mouth of his holy prophets from of old,
  4. that we would be saved from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us.
  5. Thus he has shown the mercy promised to our ancestors,and has remembered his holy covenant,
  6. the oath that he swore to our ancestor Abraham,to grant us
  7. that we, being rescued from the hands of our enemies,might serve him without fear,
  8. in holiness and righteousnessbefore him all our days.
  9. And you, child, will be called the prophet of the Most High;for you will go before the Lord to prepare his ways,
  10. to give knowledge of salvation to his peopleby the forgiveness of their sins.
  11. By the tender mercy of our God,the dawn from on high will break upon us,
  12. to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death,to guide our feet into the way of peace.’ (St Luke 1.68-79)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Blessèd are those who hunger and thirst
for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Merciful Lord,
absolve your people from their offences,
that through your bountiful goodness
we may all be delivered from the chains of those sins
which by our frailty we have committed;
grant this, heavenly Father,
for Jesus Christ’s sake, our blessèd Lord and Saviour,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

