Evening Prayer 29th March 2017

John Keble, Priest, 1866

THE PREPARATION

O God, make speed to save us.
O Lord, make haste to help us.

Let your ways be known upon earth,
your saving power among the nations.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 119.121-144

  1. I have done what is just and right;
    do not leave me to my oppressors.
  2. Guarantee your servant’s well-being;
    do not let the godless oppress me.
  3. My eyes fail from watching for your salvation,
    and for the fulfilment of your righteous promise.
  4. Deal with your servant according to your steadfast love,
    and teach me your statutes.
  5. I am your servant; give me understanding,
    so that I may know your decrees.
  6. It is time for the Lord to act,
    for your law has been broken.
  7. Truly I love your commandments
    more than gold, more than fine gold.
  8. Truly I direct my steps by all your precepts;
    I hate every false way.
  9. Your decrees are wonderful;
    therefore my soul keeps them.
  10. The unfolding of your words gives light;
    it imparts understanding to the simple.
  11. With open mouth I pant,
    because I long for your commandments.
  12. Turn to me and be gracious to me,
    as is your custom towards those who love your name.
  13. Keep my steps steady according to your promise,
    and never let iniquity have dominion over me.
  14. Redeem me from human oppression,
    that I may keep your precepts.
  15. Make your face shine upon your servant,
    and teach me your statutes.
  16. My eyes shed streams of tears
    because your law is not kept.
  17. You are righteous, O Lord,
    and your judgements are right.
  18. You have appointed your decrees in righteousness
    and in all faithfulness.
  19. My zeal consumes me
    because my foes forget your words.
  20. Your promise is well tried,
    and your servant loves it.
  21. I am small and despised,
    yet I do not forget your precepts.
  22. Your righteousness is an everlasting righteousness,
    and your law is the truth.
  23. Trouble and anguish have come upon me,
    but your commandments are my delight.
  24. Your decrees are righteous for ever;
    give me understanding that I may live.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Do not work for the food that perishes, but for the food that endures for eternal life, which the Son of Man will give you. For it is on him that God the Father has set his seal.’ Then they said to him, ‘What must we do to perform the works of God?’ Jesus answered them, ‘This is the work of God, that you believe in him whom he has sent.’ So they said to him, ‘What sign are you going to give us then, so that we may see it and believe you? What work are you performing? Our ancestors ate the manna in the wilderness; as it is written, “He gave them bread from heaven to eat.” ’ Then Jesus said to them, ‘Very truly, I tell you, it was not Moses who gave you the bread from heaven, but it is my Father who gives you the true bread from heaven. For the bread of God is that which comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.’ They said to him, ‘Sir, give us this bread always.’

Jesus said to them, ‘I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never be hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. But I said to you that you have seen me and yet do not believe. Everything that the Father gives me will come to me, and anyone who comes to me I will never drive away; for I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will, but the will of him who sent me. And this is the will of him who sent me, that I should lose nothing of all that he has given me, but raise it up on the last day. This is indeed the will of my Father, that all who see the Son and believe in him may have eternal life; and I will raise them up on the last day.’ (St John 6.27-40)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: MAGNIFICAT – THE SONG OF MARY

Come, let us return to the Lord,
for our God will richly pardon.

  1. And Mary said, ‘My soul magnifies the Lord,
  2. and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour,
  3. for he has looked with favour on the lowliness of his servant.Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed;
  4. for the Mighty One has done great things for me,and holy is his name.
  5. His mercy is for those who fear himfrom generation to generation.
  6. He has shown strength with his arm;he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.
  7. He has brought down the powerful from their thrones,and lifted up the lowly;
  8. he has filled the hungry with good things,and sent the rich away empty.
  9. He has helped his servant Israel,in remembrance of his mercy,
  10. according to the promise he made to our ancestors,to Abraham and to his descendants for ever.’ (St Luke 1.46-55)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Come, let us return to the Lord,
for our God will richly pardon.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Grant, O God,
that in all time of our testing
we may know your presence and obey your will;
that, following the example of your servant John Keble,
we may accomplish with integrity and courage
what you give us to do,
and endure what you give us to bear;
through Jesus Christ our Lord,
who lives and reigns with you
and the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

