Evening Prayer 30th March 2017

THE PREPARATION

O God, make speed to save us.
O Lord, make haste to help us.

Let your ways be known upon earth,
your saving power among the nations.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 73

  1. Truly God is good to the upright,
    to those who are pure in heart.
  2. But as for me, my feet had almost stumbled;
    my steps had nearly slipped.
  3. For I was envious of the arrogant;
    I saw the prosperity of the wicked.
  4. For they have no pain;
    their bodies are sound and sleek.
  5. They are not in trouble as others are;
    they are not plagued like other people.
  6. Therefore pride is their necklace;
    violence covers them like a garment.
  7. Their eyes swell out with fatness;
    their hearts overflow with follies.
  8. They scoff and speak with malice;
    loftily they threaten oppression.
  9. They set their mouths against heaven,
    and their tongues range over the earth.
  10. Therefore the people turn and praise them,
    and find no fault in them.
  11. And they say, ‘How can God know?
    Is there knowledge in the Most High?’
  12. Such are the wicked;
    always at ease, they increase in riches.
  13. All in vain I have kept my heart clean
    and washed my hands in innocence.
  14. For all day long I have been plagued,
    and am punished every morning.
  15. If I had said, ‘I will talk on in this way’,
    I would have been untrue to the circle of your children.
  16. But when I thought how to understand this,
    it seemed to me a wearisome task,
  17. until I went into the sanctuary of God;
    then I perceived their end.
  18. Truly you set them in slippery places;
    you make them fall to ruin.
  19. How they are destroyed in a moment,
    swept away utterly by terrors!
  20. They are like a dream when one awakes;
    on awaking you despise their phantoms.
  21. When my soul was embittered,
    when I was pricked in heart,
  22. I was stupid and ignorant;
    I was like a brute beast towards you.
  23. Nevertheless I am continually with you;
    you hold my right hand.
  24. You guide me with your counsel,
    and afterwards you will receive me with honour.
  25. Whom have I in heaven but you?
    And there is nothing on earth that I desire other than you.
  26. My flesh and my heart may fail,
    but God is the strength of my heart and my portion for ever.
  27. Indeed, those who are far from you will perish;
    you put an end to those who are false to you.
  28. But for me it is good to be near God;
    I have made the Lord God my refuge,
    to tell of all your works.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Then the Jews began to complain about him because he said, ‘I am the bread that came down from heaven.’ They were saying, ‘Is not this Jesus, the son of Joseph, whose father and mother we know? How can he now say, “I have come down from heaven”?’ Jesus answered them, ‘Do not complain among yourselves. No one can come to me unless drawn by the Father who sent me; and I will raise that person up on the last day. It is written in the prophets, “And they shall all be taught by God.” Everyone who has heard and learned from the Father comes to me. Not that anyone has seen the Father except the one who is from God; he has seen the Father. Very truly, I tell you, whoever believes has eternal life. I am the bread of life. Your ancestors ate the manna in the wilderness, and they died. This is the bread that comes down from heaven, so that one may eat of it and not die. I am the living bread that came down from heaven. Whoever eats of this bread will live for ever; and the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh.’ (St John 6.41-51)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: MAGNIFICAT – THE SONG OF MARY

Come, let us return to the Lord,
for our God will richly pardon.

  1. And Mary said, ‘My soul magnifies the Lord,
  2. and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour,
  3. for he has looked with favour on the lowliness of his servant.Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed;
  4. for the Mighty One has done great things for me,and holy is his name.
  5. His mercy is for those who fear himfrom generation to generation.
  6. He has shown strength with his arm;he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.
  7. He has brought down the powerful from their thrones,and lifted up the lowly;
  8. he has filled the hungry with good things,and sent the rich away empty.
  9. He has helped his servant Israel,in remembrance of his mercy,
  10. according to the promise he made to our ancestors,to Abraham and to his descendants for ever.’ (St Luke 1.46-55)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Come, let us return to the Lord,
for our God will richly pardon.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Merciful Lord,
absolve your people from their offences,
that through your bountiful goodness
we may all be delivered from the chains of those sins
which by our frailty we have committed;
grant this, heavenly Father,
for Jesus Christ’s sake, our blessèd Lord and Saviour,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

