Morning Prayer 31st March 2017

THE PREPARATION

O Lord, open our lips
and our mouth shall proclaim your praise.

Christ, though tempted like us, was without sin.
O come, let us worship.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 102

  1. Hear my prayer, O Lord;
    let my cry come to you.
  2. Do not hide your face from me
    on the day of my distress.
    Incline your ear to me;
    answer me speedily on the day when I call.
  3. For my days pass away like smoke,
    and my bones burn like a furnace.
  4. My heart is stricken and withered like grass;
    I am too wasted to eat my bread.
  5. Because of my loud groaning
    my bones cling to my skin.
  6. I am like an owl of the wilderness,
    like a little owl of the waste places.
  7. I lie awake;
    I am like a lonely bird on the housetop.
  8. All day long my enemies taunt me;
    those who deride me use my name for a curse.
  9. For I eat ashes like bread,
    and mingle tears with my drink,
  10. because of your indignation and anger;
    for you have lifted me up and thrown me aside.
  11. My days are like an evening shadow;
    I wither away like grass.
  12. But you, O Lord, are enthroned for ever;
    your name endures to all generations.
  13. You will rise up and have compassion on Zion,
    for it is time to favour it;
    the appointed time has come.
  14. For your servants hold its stones dear,
    and have pity on its dust.
  15. The nations will fear the name of the Lord,
    and all the kings of the earth your glory.
  16. For the Lord will build up Zion;
    he will appear in his glory.
  17. He will regard the prayer of the destitute,
    and will not despise their prayer.
  18. Let this be recorded for a generation to come,
    so that a people yet unborn may praise the Lord:
  19. that he looked down from his holy height,
    from heaven the Lord looked at the earth,
  20. to hear the groans of the prisoners,
    to set free those who were doomed to die;
  21. so that the name of the Lord may be declared in Zion,
    and his praise in Jerusalem,
  22. when peoples gather together,
    and kingdoms, to worship the Lord.
  23. He has broken my strength in mid-course;
    he has shortened my days.
  24. ‘O my God,’ I say, ‘do not take me away
    at the mid-point of my life,
    you whose years endure
    throughout all generations.’
  25. Long ago you laid the foundation of the earth,
    and the heavens are the work of your hands.
  26. They will perish, but you endure;
    they will all wear out like a garment.
    You change them like clothing, and they pass away;
  27. but you are the same, and your years have no end.
  28. The children of your servants shall live secure;
    their offspring shall be established in your presence.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Woe to the shepherds who destroy and scatter the sheep of my pasture! says the Lord. Therefore, thus says the Lord, the God of Israel, concerning the shepherds who shepherd my people: It is you who have scattered my flock, and have driven them away, and you have not attended to them. So I will attend to you for your evil doings, says the Lord. Then I myself will gather the remnant of my flock out of all the lands where I have driven them, and I will bring them back to their fold, and they shall be fruitful and multiply. I will raise up shepherds over them who will shepherd them, and they shall not fear any longer, or be dismayed, nor shall any be missing, says the Lord.

The days are surely coming, says the Lord, when I will raise up for David a righteous Branch, and he shall reign as king and deal wisely, and shall execute justice and righteousness in the land. In his days Judah will be saved and Israel will live in safety. And this is the name by which he will be called: ‘The Lord is our righteousness.’

Therefore, the days are surely coming, says the Lord, when it shall no longer be said, ‘As the Lord lives who brought the people of Israel up out of the land of Egypt’, but ‘As the Lord lives who brought out and led the offspring of the house of Israel out of the land of the north and out of all the lands where he had driven them.’ Then they shall live in their own land. (Jeremiah 23.1-8)

We know that all things work together for good for those who love God, who are called according to his purpose. For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn within a large family. And those whom he predestined he also called; and those whom he called he also justified; and those whom he justified he also glorified.

What then are we to say about these things? If God is for us, who is against us? He who did not withhold his own Son, but gave him up for all of us, will he not with him also give us everything else? Who will bring any charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies. Who is to condemn? It is Christ Jesus, who died, yes, who was raised, who is at the right hand of God, who indeed intercedes for us. Who will separate us from the love of Christ? Will hardship, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? As it is written,
‘For your sake we are being killed all day long;
we are accounted as sheep to be slaughtered.’
No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor rulers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8.28-39)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: BENEDICTUS – THE SONG OF ZECHARIAH

Blessèd are those who hunger and thirst
for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

  1. Blessèd be the Lord God of Israel,for he has looked favourably on his people and redeemed them.
  2. He has raised up a mighty saviour for usin the house of his servant David,
  3. as he spoke through the mouth of his holy prophets from of old,
  4. that we would be saved from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us.
  5. Thus he has shown the mercy promised to our ancestors,and has remembered his holy covenant,
  6. the oath that he swore to our ancestor Abraham,to grant us
  7. that we, being rescued from the hands of our enemies,might serve him without fear,
  8. in holiness and righteousnessbefore him all our days.
  9. And you, child, will be called the prophet of the Most High;for you will go before the Lord to prepare his ways,
  10. to give knowledge of salvation to his peopleby the forgiveness of their sins.
  11. By the tender mercy of our God,the dawn from on high will break upon us,
  12. to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death,to guide our feet into the way of peace.’ (St Luke 1.68-79)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Blessèd are those who hunger and thirst
for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Merciful Lord,
absolve your people from their offences,
that through your bountiful goodness
we may all be delivered from the chains of those sins
which by our frailty we have committed;
grant this, heavenly Father,
for Jesus Christ’s sake, our blessèd Lord and Saviour,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

