Evening Prayer 5th April 2017

THE PREPARATION

O God, make speed to save us.
O Lord, make haste to help us.

Let your ways be known upon earth,
your saving power among the nations.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 128

  1. Happy is everyone who fears the Lord,
    who walks in his ways.
  2. You shall eat the fruit of the labour of your hands;
    you shall be happy, and it shall go well with you.
  3. Your wife will be like a fruitful vine
    within your house;
    your children will be like olive shoots
    around your table.
  4. Thus shall the man be blessed
    who fears the Lord.
  5. The Lord bless you from Zion.
    May you see the prosperity of Jerusalem
    all the days of your life.
  6. May you see your children’s children.
    Peace be upon Israel!

Psalm 129

  1. ‘Often have they attacked me from my youth’
    —let Israel now say—
  2. ‘often have they attacked me from my youth,
    yet they have not prevailed against me.
  3. Those who plough ploughed on my back;
    they made their furrows long.’
  4. The Lord is righteous;
    he has cut the cords of the wicked.
  5. May all who hate Zion
    be put to shame and turned back.
  6. Let them be like the grass on the housetops
    that withers before it grows up,
  7. with which reapers do not fill their hands
    or binders of sheaves their arms,
  8. while those who pass by do not say,
    ‘The blessing of the Lord be upon you!
    We bless you in the name of the Lord!’

Psalm 130

  1. Out of the depths I cry to you, O Lord.
  2. Lord, hear my voice!
    Let your ears be attentive
    to the voice of my supplications!
  3. If you, O Lord, should mark iniquities,
    Lord, who could stand?
  4. But there is forgiveness with you,
    so that you may be revered.
  5. I wait for the Lord, my soul waits,
    and in his word I hope;
  6. my soul waits for the Lord
    more than those who watch for the morning,
    more than those who watch for the morning.
  7. O Israel, hope in the Lord!
    For with the Lord there is steadfast love,
    and with him is great power to redeem.
  8. It is he who will redeem Israel
    from all its iniquities.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

‘Very truly, I tell you, anyone who does not enter the sheepfold by the gate but climbs in by another way is a thief and a bandit. The one who enters by the gate is the shepherd of the sheep. The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep hear his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes ahead of them, and the sheep follow him because they know his voice. They will not follow a stranger, but they will run from him because they do not know the voice of strangers.’ Jesus used this figure of speech with them, but they did not understand what he was saying to them.

So again Jesus said to them, ‘Very truly, I tell you, I am the gate for the sheep. All who came before me are thieves and bandits; but the sheep did not listen to them. I am the gate. Whoever enters by me will be saved, and will come in and go out and find pasture. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.

‘I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. The hired hand, who is not the shepherd and does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves the sheep and runs away—and the wolf snatches them and scatters them. The hired hand runs away because a hired hand does not care for the sheep. I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father. And I lay down my life for the sheep. I have other sheep that do not belong to this fold. I must bring them also, and they will listen to my voice. So there will be one flock, one shepherd. For this reason the Father loves me, because I lay down my life in order to take it up again. No one takes* it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it up again. I have received this command from my Father.’ (St John 10.1-18)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: MAGNIFICAT – THE SONG OF MARY

God’s love for us is revealed
in that, while we were yet sinners,
Christ died for us.

  1. And Mary said, ‘My soul magnifies the Lord,
  2. and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour,
  3. for he has looked with favour on the lowliness of his servant.Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed;
  4. for the Mighty One has done great things for me,and holy is his name.
  5. His mercy is for those who fear himfrom generation to generation.
  6. He has shown strength with his arm;he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.
  7. He has brought down the powerful from their thrones,and lifted up the lowly;
  8. he has filled the hungry with good things,and sent the rich away empty.
  9. He has helped his servant Israel,in remembrance of his mercy,
  10. according to the promise he made to our ancestors,to Abraham and to his descendants for ever.’ (St Luke 1.46-55)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

God’s love for us is revealed
in that, while we were yet sinners,
Christ died for us.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Most merciful God,
who by the death and resurrection of your Son Jesus Christ,
delivered and saved the world:
grant that by faith in him who suffered on the cross
we may triumph in the power of his victory;
through Jesus Christ our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

