Morning Prayer 5th April 2017

THE PREPARATION

O Lord, open our lips
and our mouth shall proclaim your praise.

Christ suffered and died for us.
O come, let us worship.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 119:145-176

  1. With my whole heart I cry; answer me, O Lord.
    I will keep your statutes.
  2. I cry to you; save me,
    that I may observe your decrees.
  3. I rise before dawn and cry for help;
    I put my hope in your words.
  4. My eyes are awake before each watch of the night,
    that I may meditate on your promise.
  5. In your steadfast love hear my voice;
    O Lord, in your justice preserve my life.
  6. Those who persecute me with evil purpose draw near;
    they are far from your law.
  7. Yet you are near, O Lord,
    and all your commandments are true.
  8. Long ago I learned from your decrees
    that you have established them for ever.
  9. Look on my misery and rescue me,
    for I do not forget your law.
  10. Plead my cause and redeem me;
    give me life according to your promise.
  11. Salvation is far from the wicked,
    for they do not seek your statutes.
  12. Great is your mercy, O Lord;
    give me life according to your justice.
  13. Many are my persecutors and my adversaries,
    yet I do not swerve from your decrees.
  14. I look at the faithless with disgust,
    because they do not keep your commands.
  15. Consider how I love your precepts;
    preserve my life according to your steadfast love.
  16. The sum of your word is truth;
    and every one of your righteous ordinances endures for ever.
  17. Princes persecute me without cause,
    but my heart stands in awe of your words.
  18. I rejoice at your word
    like one who finds great spoil.
  19. I hate and abhor falsehood,
    but I love your law.
  20. Seven times a day I praise you
    for your righteous ordinances.
  21. Great peace have those who love your law;
    nothing can make them stumble.
  22. I hope for your salvation, O Lord,
    and I fulfil your commandments.
  23. My soul keeps your decrees;
    I love them exceedingly.
  24. I keep your precepts and decrees,
    for all my ways are before you.
  25. Let my cry come before you, O Lord;
    give me understanding according to your word.
  26. Let my supplication come before you;
    deliver me according to your promise.
  27. My lips will pour forth praise,
    because you teach me your statutes.
  28. My tongue will sing of your promise,
    for all your commandments are right.
  29. Let your hand be ready to help me,
    for I have chosen your precepts.
  30. I long for your salvation, O Lord,
    and your law is my delight.
  31. Let me live that I may praise you,
    and let your ordinances help me.
  32. I have gone astray like a lost sheep; seek out your servant,
    for I do not forget your commandments.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

You, therefore, shall prophesy against them all these words, and say to them:
The Lord will roar from on high,
and from his holy habitation utter his voice;
he will roar mightily against his fold,
and shout, like those who tread grapes,
against all the inhabitants of the earth.
The clamour will resound to the ends of the earth,
for the Lord has an indictment against the nations;
he is entering into judgement with all flesh,
and the guilty he will put to the sword,
says the Lord.

Thus says the Lord of hosts:
See, disaster is spreading
from nation to nation,
and a great tempest is stirring
from the farthest parts of the earth!

Those slain by the Lord on that day shall extend from one end of the earth to the other. They shall not be lamented, or gathered, or buried; they shall become dung on the surface of the ground.
Wail, you shepherds, and cry out;
roll in ashes, you lords of the flock,
for the days of your slaughter have come—and your dispersions,*
and you shall fall like a choice vessel.
Flight shall fail the shepherds,
and there shall be no escape for the lords of the flock.
Hark! the cry of the shepherds,
and the wail of the lords of the flock!
For the Lord is despoiling their pasture,
and the peaceful folds are devastated,
because of the fierce anger of the Lord.
Like a lion he has left his covert;
for their land has become a waste
because of the cruel sword,
and because of his fierce anger. (Jeremiah 25.30-38)

But how are they to call on one in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in one of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone to proclaim him? And how are they to proclaim him unless they are sent? As it is written, ‘How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!’ But not all have obeyed the good news;* for Isaiah says, ‘Lord, who has believed our message?’ So faith comes from what is heard, and what is heard comes through the word of Christ.*

But I ask, have they not heard? Indeed they have; for
‘Their voice has gone out to all the earth,
and their words to the ends of the world.’
Again I ask, did Israel not understand? First Moses says,
‘I will make you jealous of those who are not a nation;
with a foolish nation I will make you angry.’
Then Isaiah is so bold as to say,
‘I have been found by those who did not seek me;
I have shown myself to those who did not ask for me.’
But of Israel he says, ‘All day long I have held out my hands to a disobedient and contrary people.’ (Romans 10.14-21)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: BENEDICTUS – THE SONG OF ZECHARIAH

The word of the cross is folly
to those who are perishing,
but to those who are being saved,
it is the power of God.

  1. Blessèd be the Lord God of Israel, for he has looked favourably on his people and redeemed them.
  2. He has raised up a mighty saviour for us in the house of his servant David,
  3. as he spoke through the mouth of his holy prophets from of old,
  4. that we would be saved from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us.
  5. Thus he has shown the mercy promised to our ancestors,and has remembered his holy covenant,
  6. the oath that he swore to our ancestor Abraham,to grant us
  7. that we, being rescued from the hands of our enemies,might serve him without fear,
  8. in holiness and righteousness before him all our days.
  9. And you, child, will be called the prophet of the Most High;for you will go before the Lord to prepare his ways,
  10. to give knowledge of salvation to his people by the forgiveness of their sins.
  11. By the tender mercy of our God,the dawn from on high will break upon us,
  12. to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death,to guide our feet into the way of peace.’ (St Luke 1.68-79)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

The word of the cross is folly
to those who are perishing,
but to those who are being saved,
it is the power of God.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Most merciful God,
who by the death and resurrection of your Son Jesus Christ,
delivered and saved the world:
grant that by faith in him who suffered on the cross
we may triumph in the power of his victory;
through Jesus Christ our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

