Evening Prayer 6th April 2017

THE PREPARATION

O God, make speed to save us.
O Lord, make haste to help us.

Let your ways be known upon earth,
your saving power among the nations.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 140

  1. Deliver me, O Lord, from evildoers;
    protect me from those who are violent,
  2. who plan evil things in their minds
    and stir up wars continually.
  3. They make their tongue sharp as a snake’s,
    and under their lips is the venom of vipers.
    Selah
  4. Guard me, O Lord, from the hands of the wicked;
    protect me from the violent
    who have planned my downfall.
  5. The arrogant have hidden a trap for me,
    and with cords they have spread a net;
    along the road they have set snares for me.
    Selah
  6. I say to the Lord, ‘You are my God;
    give ear, O Lord, to the voice of my supplications.’
  7. O Lord, my Lord, my strong deliverer,
    you have covered my head in the day of battle.
  8. Do not grant, O Lord, the desires of the wicked;
    do not further their evil plot.
    Selah
  9. Those who surround me lift up their heads;
    let the mischief of their lips overwhelm them!
  10. Let burning coals fall on them!
    Let them be flung into pits, no more to rise!
  11. Do not let the slanderer be established in the land;
    let evil speedily hunt down the violent!
  12. I know that the Lord maintains the cause of the needy,
    and executes justice for the poor.
  13. Surely the righteous shall give thanks to your name;
    the upright shall live in your presence.

Psalm 142

  1. With my voice I cry to the Lord;
    with my voice I make supplication to the Lord.
  2. I pour out my complaint before him;
    I tell my trouble before him.
  3. When my spirit is faint,
    you know my way.
    In the path where I walk
    they have hidden a trap for me.
  4. Look on my right hand and see—
    there is no one who takes notice of me;
    no refuge remains to me;
    no one cares for me.
  5. I cry to you, O Lord;
    I say, ‘You are my refuge,
    my portion in the land of the living.’
  6. Give heed to my cry,
    for I am brought very low.
    Save me from my persecutors,
    for they are too strong for me.
  7. Bring me out of prison,
    so that I may give thanks to your name.
    The righteous will surround me,
    for you will deal bountifully with me.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Again the Jews were divided because of these words. Many of them were saying, ‘He has a demon and is out of his mind. Why listen to him?’ Others were saying, ‘These are not the words of one who has a demon. Can a demon open the eyes of the blind?’

At that time the festival of the Dedication took place in Jerusalem. It was winter, and Jesus was walking in the temple, in the portico of Solomon. So the Jews gathered around him and said to him, ‘How long will you keep us in suspense? If you are the Messiah, tell us plainly.’ Jesus answered, ‘I have told you, and you do not believe. The works that I do in my Father’s name testify to me; but you do not believe, because you do not belong to my sheep. My sheep hear my voice. I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish. No one will snatch them out of my hand. What my Father has given me is greater than all else, and no one can snatch it out of the Father’s hand. The Father and I are one.’

The Jews took up stones again to stone him. Jesus replied, ‘I have shown you many good works from the Father. For which of these are you going to stone me?’ The Jews answered, ‘It is not for a good work that we are going to stone you, but for blasphemy, because you, though only a human being, are making yourself God.’ Jesus answered, ‘Is it not written in your law, “I said, you are gods”? If those to whom the word of God came were called “gods”—and the scripture cannot be annulled— can you say that the one whom the Father has sanctified and sent into the world is blaspheming because I said, “I am God’s Son”? If I am not doing the works of my Father, then do not believe me. But if I do them, even though you do not believe me, believe the works, so that you may know and understand that the Father is in me and I am in the Father.’ Then they tried to arrest him again, but he escaped from their hands.

He went away again across the Jordan to the place where John had been baptizing earlier, and he remained there. Many came to him, and they were saying, ‘John performed no sign, but everything that John said about this man was true.’ And many believed in him there. (St John 10.19-42)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: MAGNIFICAT – THE SONG OF MARY

God’s love for us is revealed
in that, while we were yet sinners,
Christ died for us.

  1. And Mary said, ‘My soul magnifies the Lord,
  2. and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour,
  3. for he has looked with favour on the lowliness of his servant.Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed;
  4. for the Mighty One has done great things for me,and holy is his name.
  5. His mercy is for those who fear himfrom generation to generation.
  6. He has shown strength with his arm;he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.
  7. He has brought down the powerful from their thrones,and lifted up the lowly;
  8. he has filled the hungry with good things,and sent the rich away empty.
  9. He has helped his servant Israel,in remembrance of his mercy,
  10. according to the promise he made to our ancestors,to Abraham and to his descendants for ever.’ (St Luke 1.46-55)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

God’s love for us is revealed
in that, while we were yet sinners,
Christ died for us.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Most merciful God,
who by the death and resurrection of your Son Jesus Christ,
delivered and saved the world:
grant that by faith in him who suffered on the cross
we may triumph in the power of his victory;
through Jesus Christ our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

