Morning Prayer 8th April 2017

THE PREPARATION

O Lord, open our lips
and our mouth shall proclaim your praise.

Christ suffered and died for us.
O come, let us worship.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 137.1-6

  1. By the rivers of Babylon—
    there we sat down and there we wept
    when we remembered Zion.
  2. On the willows there
    we hung up our harps.
  3. For there our captors
    asked us for songs,
    and our tormentors asked for mirth, saying,
    ‘Sing us one of the songs of Zion!’
  4. How could we sing the Lord’s song
    in a foreign land?
  5. If I forget you, O Jerusalem,
    let my right hand wither!
  6. Let my tongue cling to the roof of my mouth,
    if I do not remember you,
    if I do not set Jerusalem
    above my highest joy.

Psalm 144

  1. Blessed be the Lord, my rock,
    who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle;
  2. my rock and my fortress,
    my stronghold and my deliverer,
    my shield, in whom I take refuge,
    who subdues the peoples under me.
  3. O Lord, what are human beings that you regard them,
    or mortals that you think of them?
  4. They are like a breath;
    their days are like a passing shadow.
  5. Bow your heavens, O Lord, and come down;
    touch the mountains so that they smoke.
  6. Make the lightning flash and scatter them;
    send out your arrows and rout them.
  7. Stretch out your hand from on high;
    set me free and rescue me from the mighty waters,
    from the hand of aliens,
  8. whose mouths speak lies,
    and whose right hands are false.
  9. I will sing a new song to you, O God;
    upon a ten-stringed harp I will play to you,
  10. the one who gives victory to kings,
    who rescues his servant David.
  11. Rescue me from the cruel sword,
    and deliver me from the hand of aliens,
    whose mouths speak lies,
    and whose right hands are false.
  12. May our sons in their youth
    be like plants full grown,
    our daughters like corner pillars,
    cut for the building of a palace.
  13. May our barns be filled
    with produce of every kind;
    may our sheep increase by thousands,
    by tens of thousands in our fields,
  14. and may our cattle be heavy with young.
    May there be no breach in the walls, no exile,
    and no cry of distress in our streets.
  15. Happy are the people to whom such blessings fall;
    happy are the people whose God is the Lord.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

The days are surely coming, says the Lord, when I will sow the house of Israel and the house of Judah with the seed of humans and the seed of animals. And just as I have watched over them to pluck up and break down, to overthrow, destroy, and bring evil, so I will watch over them to build and to plant, says the Lord. In those days they shall no longer say:
‘The parents have eaten sour grapes,
and the children’s teeth are set on edge.’
But all shall die for their own sins; the teeth of everyone who eats sour grapes shall be set on edge.

The days are surely coming, says the Lord, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah. It will not be like the covenant that I made with their ancestors when I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt—a covenant that they broke, though I was their husband, says the Lord. But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the Lord: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people. No longer shall they teach one another, or say to each other, ‘Know the Lord’, for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, says the Lord; for I will forgive their iniquity, and remember their sin no more. (Jeremiah 31.27-34)

So that you may not claim to be wiser than you are, brothers and sisters, I want you to understand this mystery: a hardening has come upon part of Israel, until the full number of the Gentiles has come in. And so all Israel will be saved; as it is written,
‘Out of Zion will come the Deliverer;
he will banish ungodliness from Jacob.’
‘And this is my covenant with them,
when I take away their sins.’
As regards the gospel they are enemies of God for your sake; but as regards election they are beloved, for the sake of their ancestors; for the gifts and the calling of God are irrevocable. Just as you were once disobedient to God but have now received mercy because of their disobedience, so they have now been disobedient in order that, by the mercy shown to you, they too may now receive mercy. For God has imprisoned all in disobedience so that he may be merciful to all.

O the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are his judgements and how inscrutable his ways!
‘For who has known the mind of the Lord?
Or who has been his counsellor?’
‘Or who has given a gift to him,
to receive a gift in return?’
For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be the glory for ever. Amen. (Romans 11.25-36)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: BENEDICTUS – THE SONG OF ZECHARIAH

The word of the cross is folly
to those who are perishing,
but to those who are being saved,
it is the power of God.

  1. Blessèd be the Lord God of Israel, for he has looked favourably on his people and redeemed them.
  2. He has raised up a mighty saviour for us in the house of his servant David,
  3. as he spoke through the mouth of his holy prophets from of old,
  4. that we would be saved from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us.
  5. Thus he has shown the mercy promised to our ancestors,and has remembered his holy covenant,
  6. the oath that he swore to our ancestor Abraham,to grant us
  7. that we, being rescued from the hands of our enemies,might serve him without fear,
  8. in holiness and righteousness before him all our days.
  9. And you, child, will be called the prophet of the Most High;for you will go before the Lord to prepare his ways,
  10. to give knowledge of salvation to his people by the forgiveness of their sins.
  11. By the tender mercy of our God,the dawn from on high will break upon us,
  12. to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death,to guide our feet into the way of peace.’ (St Luke 1.68-79)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

The word of the cross is folly
to those who are perishing,
but to those who are being saved,
it is the power of God.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Most merciful God,
who by the death and resurrection of your Son Jesus Christ,
delivered and saved the world:
grant that by faith in him who suffered on the cross
we may triumph in the power of his victory;
through Jesus Christ our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

