Evening Prayer 10th April 2017

THE PREPARATION

O God, make speed to save us.
O Lord, make haste to help us.

Let your ways be known upon earth,
your saving power among the nations.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 69.1-23

  1. Save me, O God,
    for the waters have come up to my neck.
  2. I sink in deep mire,
    where there is no foothold;
    I have come into deep waters,
    and the flood sweeps over me.
  3. I am weary with my crying;
    my throat is parched.
    My eyes grow dim
    with waiting for my God.
  4. More in number than the hairs of my head
    are those who hate me without cause;
    many are those who would destroy me,
    my enemies who accuse me falsely.
    What I did not steal
    must I now restore?
  5. O God, you know my folly;
    the wrongs I have done are not hidden from you.
  6. Do not let those who hope in you be put to shame because of me,
    O Lord God of hosts;
    do not let those who seek you be dishonoured because of me,
    O God of Israel.
  7. It is for your sake that I have borne reproach,
    that shame has covered my face.
  8. I have become a stranger to my kindred,
    an alien to my mother’s children.
  9. It is zeal for your house that has consumed me;
    the insults of those who insult you have fallen on me.
  10. When I humbled my soul with fasting,
    they insulted me for doing so.
  11. When I made sackcloth my clothing,
    I became a byword to them.
  12. I am the subject of gossip for those who sit in the gate,
    and the drunkards make songs about me.
  13. But as for me, my prayer is to you, O Lord.
    At an acceptable time, O God,
    in the abundance of your steadfast love, answer me.
    With your faithful help
  14. rescue me
    from sinking in the mire;
    let me be delivered from my enemies
    and from the deep waters.
  15. Do not let the flood sweep over me,
    or the deep swallow me up,
    or the Pit close its mouth over me.
  16. Answer me, O Lord, for your steadfast love is good;
    according to your abundant mercy, turn to me.
  17. Do not hide your face from your servant,
    for I am in distress—make haste to answer me.
  18. Draw near to me, redeem me,
    set me free because of my enemies.
  19. You know the insults I receive,
    and my shame and dishonour;
    my foes are all known to you.
  20. Insults have broken my heart,
    so that I am in despair.
    I looked for pity, but there was none;
    and for comforters, but I found none.
  21. They gave me poison for food,
    and for my thirst they gave me vinegar to drink.
  22. Let their table be a trap for them,
    a snare for their allies.
  23. Let their eyes be darkened so that they cannot see,
    and make their loins tremble continually.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

When the great crowd of the Jews learned that he was there, they came not only because of Jesus but also to see Lazarus, whom he had raised from the dead. So the chief priests planned to put Lazarus to death as well, since it was on account of him that many of the Jews were deserting and were believing in Jesus.

The next day the great crowd that had come to the festival heard that Jesus was coming to Jerusalem. So they took branches of palm trees and went out to meet him, shouting,
‘Hosanna!
Blessed is the one who comes in the name of the Lord—
the King of Israel!’
Jesus found a young donkey and sat on it; as it is written:
‘Do not be afraid, daughter of Zion.
Look, your king is coming,
sitting on a donkey’s colt!’
His disciples did not understand these things at first; but when Jesus was glorified, then they remembered that these things had been written of him and had been done to him. So the crowd that had been with him when he called Lazarus out of the tomb and raised him from the dead continued to testify. It was also because they heard that he had performed this sign that the crowd went to meet him. The Pharisees then said to one another, ‘You see, you can do nothing. Look, the world has gone after him!’ (St John 12.9-19)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: MAGNIFICAT – THE SONG OF MARY

God’s love for us is revealed
in that, while we were yet sinners,
Christ died for us.

  1. And Mary said, ‘My soul magnifies the Lord,
  2. and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour,
  3. for he has looked with favour on the lowliness of his servant.Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed;
  4. for the Mighty One has done great things for me,and holy is his name.
  5. His mercy is for those who fear himfrom generation to generation.
  6. He has shown strength with his arm;he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.
  7. He has brought down the powerful from their thrones,and lifted up the lowly;
  8. he has filled the hungry with good things,and sent the rich away empty.
  9. He has helped his servant Israel,in remembrance of his mercy,
  10. according to the promise he made to our ancestors,to Abraham and to his descendants for ever.’ (St Luke 1.46-55)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

God’s love for us is revealed
in that, while we were yet sinners,
Christ died for us.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Almighty and everlasting God,
who in your tender love towards the human race sent your Son our Saviour Jesus Christ
to take upon him our flesh
and to suffer death upon the cross:
grant that we may follow the example of
his patience and humility,
and also be made partakers of his
resurrection;
through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

