Morning Prayer 12th April 2017

THE PREPARATION

O Lord, open our lips
and our mouth shall proclaim your praise.

Christ suffered and died for us.
O come, let us worship.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 55

  1. Give ear to my prayer, O God;
    do not hide yourself from my supplication.
  2. Attend to me, and answer me;
    I am troubled in my complaint.
    I am distraught
  3. by the noise of the enemy,
    because of the clamour of the wicked.
    For they bring trouble upon me,
    and in anger they cherish enmity against me.
  4. My heart is in anguish within me,
    the terrors of death have fallen upon me.
  5. Fear and trembling come upon me,
    and horror overwhelms me.
  6. And I say, ‘O that I had wings like a dove!
    I would fly away and be at rest;
  7. truly, I would flee far away;
    I would lodge in the wilderness;
    Selah
  8. I would hurry to find a shelter for myself
    from the raging wind and tempest.’
  9. Confuse, O Lord, confound their speech;
    for I see violence and strife in the city.
  10. Day and night they go around it
    on its walls,
    and iniquity and trouble are within it;
  11. ruin is in its midst;
    oppression and fraud
    do not depart from its market-place.
  12. It is not enemies who taunt me—
    I could bear that;
    it is not adversaries who deal insolently with me—
    I could hide from them.
  13. But it is you, my equal,
    my companion, my familiar friend,
  14. with whom I kept pleasant company;
    we walked in the house of God with the throng.
  15. Let death come upon them;
    let them go down alive to Sheol;
    for evil is in their homes and in their hearts.
  16. But I call upon God,
    and the Lord will save me.
  17. Evening and morning and at noon
    I utter my complaint and moan,
    and he will hear my voice.
  18. He will redeem me unharmed
    from the battle that I wage,
    for many are arrayed against me.
  19. God, who is enthroned from of old,
    Selah
    will hear, and will humble them—
    because they do not change,
    and do not fear God.
  20. My companion laid hands on a friend
    and violated a covenant with me
  21. with speech smoother than butter,
    but with a heart set on war;
    with words that were softer than oil,
    but in fact were drawn swords.
  22. Cast your burden on the Lord,
    and he will sustain you;
    he will never permit
    the righteous to be moved.
  23. But you, O God, will cast them down
    into the lowest pit;
    the bloodthirsty and treacherous
    shall not live out half their days.
    But I will trust in you.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Thus says the Lord:
Cursed are those who trust in mere mortals
and make mere flesh their strength,
whose hearts turn away from the Lord.
They shall be like a shrub in the desert,
and shall not see when relief comes.
They shall live in the parched places of the wilderness,
in an uninhabited salt land.

Blessed are those who trust in the Lord,
whose trust is the Lord.
They shall be like a tree planted by water,
sending out its roots by the stream.
It shall not fear when heat comes,
and its leaves shall stay green;
in the year of drought it is not anxious,
and it does not cease to bear fruit.

The heart is devious above all else;
it is perverse—
who can understand it?
I the Lord test the mind
and search the heart,
to give to all according to their ways,
according to the fruit of their doings.

Heal me, O Lord, and I shall be healed;
save me, and I shall be saved;
for you are my praise.
See how they say to me,
‘Where is the word of the Lord?
Let it come!’
But I have not run away from being a shepherd in your service,
nor have I desired the fatal day.
You know what came from my lips;
it was before your face.
Do not become a terror to me;
you are my refuge on the day of disaster. (Jeremiah 17.5-10, 14-17)

Therefore, my brothers and sisters, whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, stand firm in the Lord in this way, my beloved.
I urge Euodia and I urge Syntyche to be of the same mind in the Lord. Yes, and I ask you also, my loyal companion, help these women, for they have struggled beside me in the work of the gospel, together with Clement and the rest of my co-workers, whose names are in the book of life.

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. Let your gentleness be known to everyone. The Lord is near. Do not worry about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Finally, beloved, whatever is true, whatever is honourable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is pleasing, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. Keep on doing the things that you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, and the God of peace will be with you.

I rejoice in the Lord greatly that now at last you have revived your concern for me; indeed, you were concerned for me, but had no opportunity to show it. Not that I am referring to being in need; for I have learned to be content with whatever I have. I know what it is to have little, and I know what it is to have plenty. In any and all circumstances I have learned the secret of being well-fed and of going hungry, of having plenty and of being in need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me. (Philippians 4.1-13)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: BENEDICTUS – THE SONG OF ZECHARIAH

The word of the cross is folly
to those who are perishing,
but to those who are being saved,
it is the power of God.

  1. Blessèd be the Lord God of Israel, for he has looked favourably on his people and redeemed them.
  2. He has raised up a mighty saviour for us in the house of his servant David,
  3. as he spoke through the mouth of his holy prophets from of old,
  4. that we would be saved from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us.
  5. Thus he has shown the mercy promised to our ancestors,and has remembered his holy covenant,
  6. the oath that he swore to our ancestor Abraham,to grant us
  7. that we, being rescued from the hands of our enemies,might serve him without fear,
  8. in holiness and righteousness before him all our days.
  9. And you, child, will be called the prophet of the Most High;for you will go before the Lord to prepare his ways,
  10. to give knowledge of salvation to his people by the forgiveness of their sins.
  11. By the tender mercy of our God,the dawn from on high will break upon us,
  12. to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death,to guide our feet into the way of peace.’ (St Luke 1.68-79)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

The word of the cross is folly
to those who are perishing,
but to those who are being saved,
it is the power of God.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Trusting in the compassion of God,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Almighty and everlasting God,
who in your tender love towards the human race sent your Son our Saviour Jesus Christ
to take upon him our flesh
and to suffer death upon the cross:
grant that we may follow the example of
his patience and humility,
and also be made partakers of his
resurrection;
through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

