Evening Prayer 14th April 2017

Good Friday

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 40.1-14

  1. I waited patiently for the Lord;
    he inclined to me and heard my cry.
  2. He drew me up from the desolate pit,
    out of the miry bog,
    and set my feet upon a rock,
    making my steps secure.
  3. He put a new song in my mouth,
    a song of praise to our God.
    Many will see and fear,
    and put their trust in the Lord.
  4. Happy are those who make
    the Lord their trust,
    who do not turn to the proud,
    to those who go astray after false gods.
  5. You have multiplied, O Lord my God,
    your wondrous deeds and your thoughts towards us;
    none can compare with you.
    Were I to proclaim and tell of them,
    they would be more than can be counted.
  6. Sacrifice and offering you do not desire,
    but you have given me an open ear.
    Burnt-offering and sin-offering
    you have not required.
  7. Then I said, ‘Here I am;
    in the scroll of the book it is written of me.
  8. I delight to do your will, O my God;
    your law is within my heart.’
  9. I have told the glad news of deliverance
    in the great congregation;
    see, I have not restrained my lips,
    as you know, O Lord.
  10. I have not hidden your saving help within my heart,
    I have spoken of your faithfulness and your salvation;
    I have not concealed your steadfast love and your faithfulness
    from the great congregation.
  11. Do not, O Lord, withhold
    your mercy from me;
    let your steadfast love and your faithfulness
    keep me safe for ever.
  12. For evils have encompassed me
    without number;
    my iniquities have overtaken me,
    until I cannot see;
    they are more than the hairs of my head,
    and my heart fails me.
  13. Be pleased, O Lord, to deliver me;
    O Lord, make haste to help me.
  14. Let all those be put to shame and confusion
    who seek to snatch away my life;
    let those be turned back and brought to dishonour
    who desire my hurt.

Psalm 54

  1. Save me, O God, by your name,
    and vindicate me by your might.
  2. Hear my prayer, O God;
    give ear to the words of my mouth.
  3. For the insolent have risen against me,
    the ruthless seek my life;
    they do not set God before them.
    Selah
  4. But surely, God is my helper;
    the Lord is the upholder of my life.
  5. He will repay my enemies for their evil.
    In your faithfulness, put an end to them.
  6. With a freewill-offering I will sacrifice to you;
    I will give thanks to your name, O Lord, for it is good.
  7. For he has delivered me from every trouble,
    and my eye has looked in triumph on my enemies.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

After these things, Joseph of Arimathea, who was a disciple of Jesus, though a secret one because of his fear of the Jews, asked Pilate to let him take away the body of Jesus. Pilate gave him permission; so he came and removed his body. Nicodemus, who had at first come to Jesus by night, also came, bringing a mixture of myrrh and aloes, weighing about a hundred pounds. They took the body of Jesus and wrapped it with the spices in linen cloths, according to the burial custom of the Jews. Now there was a garden in the place where he was crucified, and in the garden there was a new tomb in which no one had ever been laid. And so, because it was the Jewish day of Preparation, and the tomb was nearby, they laid Jesus there. (St John 19.38-42)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: MAGNIFICAT – THE SONG OF MARY

Christ humbled himself for us,
and in obedience accepted death,
even death on a cross.

  1. And Mary said, ‘My soul magnifies the Lord,
  2. and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour,
  3. for he has looked with favour on the lowliness of his servant.Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed;
  4. for the Mighty One has done great things for me,and holy is his name.
  5. His mercy is for those who fear himfrom generation to generation.
  6. He has shown strength with his arm;he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.
  7. He has brought down the powerful from their thrones,and lifted up the lowly;
  8. he has filled the hungry with good things,and sent the rich away empty.
  9. He has helped his servant Israel,in remembrance of his mercy,
  10. according to the promise he made to our ancestors,to Abraham and to his descendants for ever.’ (St Luke 1.46-55)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Christ humbled himself for us,
and in obedience accepted death,
even death on a cross.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Standing at the foot of the cross,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Almighty Father,
look with mercy on this your family
for which our Lord Jesus Christ was
content to be betrayed and given up into the hands of sinners and to suffer death upon the cross;
who is alive and glorified with you and
the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

