Evening Prayer 15th April 2017

Holy Saturday

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 27

  1. The Lord is my light and my salvation;
    whom shall I fear?
    The Lord is the stronghold of my life;
    of whom shall I be afraid?
  2. When evildoers assail me
    to devour my flesh—
    my adversaries and foes—
    they shall stumble and fall.
  3. Though an army encamp against me,
    my heart shall not fear;
    though war rise up against me,
    yet I will be confident.
  4. One thing I asked of the Lord,
    that will I seek after:
    to live in the house of the Lord
    all the days of my life,
    to behold the beauty of the Lord,
    and to inquire in his temple.
  5. For he will hide me in his shelter
    in the day of trouble;
    he will conceal me under the cover of his tent;
    he will set me high on a rock.
  6. Now my head is lifted up
    above my enemies all around me,
    and I will offer in his tent
    sacrifices with shouts of joy;
    I will sing and make melody to the Lord.
  7. Hear, O Lord, when I cry aloud,
    be gracious to me and answer me!
  8. ‘Come,’ my heart says, ‘seek his face!’
    Your face, Lord, do I seek.
  9. Do not hide your face from me.
    Do not turn your servant away in anger,
    you who have been my help.
    Do not cast me off, do not forsake me,
    O God of my salvation!
  10. If my father and mother forsake me,
    the Lord will take me up.
  11. Teach me your way, O Lord,
    and lead me on a level path
    because of my enemies.
  12. Do not give me up to the will of my adversaries,
    for false witnesses have risen against me,
    and they are breathing out violence.
  13. I believe that I shall see the goodness of the Lord
    in the land of the living.
  14. Wait for the Lord;
    be strong, and let your heart take courage;
    wait for the Lord!

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has set you free from the law of sin and of death. For God has done what the law, weakened by the flesh, could not do: by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, and to deal with sin, he condemned sin in the flesh, so that the just requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us, who walk not according to the flesh but according to the Spirit. For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the Spirit. To set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace. For this reason the mind that is set on the flesh is hostile to God; it does not submit to God’s law—indeed it cannot, and those who are in the flesh cannot please God.

But you are not in the flesh; you are in the Spirit, since the Spirit of God dwells in you. Anyone who does not have the Spirit of Christ does not belong to him. But if Christ is in you, though the body is dead because of sin, the Spirit is life because of righteousness. If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, he who raised Christ from the dead will give life to your mortal bodies also through his Spirit that dwells in you. (Romans 8.1-11)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: MAGNIFICAT – THE SONG OF MARY

Christ humbled himself for us
and, in obedience,
accepted death,
even death on a cross:
therefore God raised him to the heights
and gave him the name
which is above all other names.

  1. And Mary said, ‘My soul magnifies the Lord,
  2. and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour,
  3. for he has looked with favour on the lowliness of his servant.Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed;
  4. for the Mighty One has done great things for me,and holy is his name.
  5. His mercy is for those who fear himfrom generation to generation.
  6. He has shown strength with his arm;he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.
  7. He has brought down the powerful from their thrones,and lifted up the lowly;
  8. he has filled the hungry with good things,and sent the rich away empty.
  9. He has helped his servant Israel,in remembrance of his mercy,
  10. according to the promise he made to our ancestors,to Abraham and to his descendants for ever.’ (St Luke 1.46-55)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Christ humbled himself for us
and, in obedience,
accepted death,
even death on a cross:
therefore God raised him to the heights
and gave him the name
which is above all other names.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Standing at the foot of the cross,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Grant, Lord,
that we who are baptized into the death of your Son our Saviour Jesus Christ
may continually put to death our evil desires and be buried with him;
and that through the grave and gate of death
we may pass to our joyful resurrection;
through his merits,
who died and was buried and rose again
for us,
your Son Jesus Christ our Lord.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

