Morning Prayer 15th April 2017

Holy Saturday

THE WORD OF GOD

Psalm 88

  1. O Lord, God of my salvation,
    when, at night, I cry out in your presence,
  2. let my prayer come before you;
    incline your ear to my cry.
  3. For my soul is full of troubles,
    and my life draws near to Sheol.
  4. I am counted among those who go down to the Pit;
    I am like those who have no help,
  5. like those forsaken among the dead,
    like the slain that lie in the grave,
    like those whom you remember no more,
    for they are cut off from your hand.
  6. You have put me in the depths of the Pit,
    in the regions dark and deep.
  7. Your wrath lies heavy upon me,
    and you overwhelm me with all your waves.
    Selah
  8. You have caused my companions to shun me;
    you have made me a thing of horror to them.
    I am shut in so that I cannot escape;
  9. my eye grows dim through sorrow.
    Every day I call on you, O Lord;
    I spread out my hands to you.
  10. Do you work wonders for the dead?
    Do the shades rise up to praise you?
    Selah
  11. Is your steadfast love declared in the grave,
    or your faithfulness in Abaddon?
  12. Are your wonders known in the darkness,
    or your saving help in the land of forgetfulness?
  13. But I, O Lord, cry out to you;
    in the morning my prayer comes before you.
  14. O Lord, why do you cast me off?
    Why do you hide your face from me?
  15. Wretched and close to death from my youth up,
    I suffer your terrors; I am desperate.
  16. Your wrath has swept over me;
    your dread assaults destroy me.
  17. They surround me like a flood all day long;
    from all sides they close in on me.
  18. You have caused friend and neighbour to shun me;
    my companions are in darkness.

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Have pity on me, have pity on me, O you my friends,
for the hand of God has touched me!
Why do you, like God, pursue me,
never satisfied with my flesh?

‘O that my words were written down!
O that they were inscribed in a book!
O that with an iron pen and with lead
they were engraved on a rock for ever!
For I know that my Redeemer lives,
and that at the last he will stand upon the earth;
and after my skin has been thus destroyed,
then in my flesh I shall see God,
whom I shall see on my side,
and my eyes shall behold, and not another. (Job 19.21-27a)

Therefore, while the promise of entering his rest is still open, let us take care that none of you should seem to have failed to reach it. For indeed the good news came to us just as to them; but the message they heard did not benefit them, because they were not united by faith with those who listened. For we who have believed enter that rest, just as God has said,
‘As in my anger I swore,
“They shall not enter my rest” ’,
though his works were finished at the foundation of the world. For in one place it speaks about the seventh day as follows: ‘And God rested on the seventh day from all his works.’ And again in this place it says, ‘They shall not enter my rest.’ Since therefore it remains open for some to enter it, and those who formerly received the good news failed to enter because of disobedience, again he sets a certain day—‘today’—saying through David much later, in the words already quoted,
‘Today, if you hear his voice,
do not harden your hearts.’
For if Joshua had given them rest, God would not speak later about another day. So then, a sabbath rest still remains for the people of God; for those who enter God’s rest also cease from their labours as God did from his. Let us therefore make every effort to enter that rest, so that no one may fall through such disobedience as theirs.

Indeed, the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing until it divides soul from spirit, joints from marrow; it is able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart. And before him no creature is hidden, but all are naked and laid bare to the eyes of the one to whom we must render an account.

Since, then, we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus, the Son of God, let us hold fast to our confession. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who in every respect has been tested as we are, yet without sin. Let us therefore approach the throne of grace with boldness, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need. (Hebrews 4.1-16)

THE GOSPEL CANTICLE: BENEDICTUS – THE SONG OF ZECHARIAH

Destroy this temple
and, in three days,
I will raise it up, says the Lord;
this he said of the temple that was his body.

  1. Blessèd be the Lord God of Israel, for he has looked favourably on his people and redeemed them.
  2. He has raised up a mighty saviour for us in the house of his servant David,
  3. as he spoke through the mouth of his holy prophets from of old,
  4. that we would be saved from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us.
  5. Thus he has shown the mercy promised to our ancestors,and has remembered his holy covenant,
  6. the oath that he swore to our ancestor Abraham,to grant us
  7. that we, being rescued from the hands of our enemies,might serve him without fear,
  8. in holiness and righteousness before him all our days.
  9. And you, child, will be called the prophet of the Most High;for you will go before the Lord to prepare his ways,
  10. to give knowledge of salvation to his people by the forgiveness of their sins.
  11. By the tender mercy of our God,the dawn from on high will break upon us,
  12. to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death,to guide our feet into the way of peace.’ (St Luke 1.68-79)

Glory to the Father and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit; *
as it was in the beginning, is now,
and shall be for ever. Amen.

Destroy this temple
and, in three days,
I will raise it up, says the Lord;
this he said of the temple that was his body.

THE PRAYERS

THE KYRIES

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.
Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.
Lord, have mercy.

THE LORD’S PRAYER

Standing at the foot of the cross,
as our Saviour taught us, so we pray
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.

THE COLLECT

Grant, Lord,
that we who are baptized into the death of your Son our Saviour Jesus Christ
may continually put to death our evil desires and be buried with him;
and that through the grave and gate of death
we may pass to our joyful resurrection;
through his merits,
who died and was buried and rose again
for us,
your Son Jesus Christ our Lord.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

